The Craft of Research by
With more than 400,000 copies now in print, The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. Seasoned researchers and educators Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams present an updated third edition of their classic handbook, whose first and second editions were written in collaboration with the late Wayne C. Booth. The Craft of Research explains how to build an argument that motivates readers to accept a claim; how to anticipate the reservations of readers and to respond to them appropriately; and how to create introductions and conclusions that answer that most demanding question, “So what?” The third edition includes an expanded discussion of the essential early stages of a research task: planning and drafting a paper. The authors have revised and fully updated their section on electronic research, emphasizing the need to distinguish between trustworthy sources (such as those found in libraries) and less reliable sources found with a quick Web search. A chapter on warrants has also been thoroughly reviewed to make this difficult subject easier for researchers Throughout, the authors have preserved the amiable tone, the reliable voice, and the sense of directness that have made this book indispensable for anyone undertaking a research project.
A Guide to Library Research Methods by
In this age of information explosion, job hunters, students, professionals and researchers have long needed a comprehensive yet user-friendly handbook to guide them through the bewildering maze of resources now available. This book, written by a reference librarian at the Library of Congress, introduces a distinctive, new approach to the fact-finding process. It provides an exceptional overview not only of the range of materials that exist, but, more importantly, of the several conceptual options that individuals have in using them. Dr. Mann's problem-solving technique emphasizes seven different research methods that can be applied to any inquiry. These can be used as a set of easily remembered "mental pegs" that enables individuals to get further into a subject more quickly, and with less wasted effort. While using the more conventional research models that categorise sources by type-of-literature (dictionaries, almanacs, etc.) and by subject discipline (Business, English, Psychology, etc.), the author's approach enables individuals to pursue their inquiries in a cross-disciplinary and more thorough fashion. The seven research methods described include computer searches, subject heading inquiries, bibliographies, systematic browsing, key word searches and citation searches, and more. Mann discusses the strengths and weaknesses of the several methods (for example, the pitfalls of relying exclusively on computer searches), the use of unique sources like the National Union Catalog, and the treasures to be found in frequently neglected sources like special collections, microform sets, and government documents. An invaluable feature of the book is its provision of numerous examples of actual searches, including examples of the mistakes and omissions that most people (even university professors) are guilty of, without ever realizing that they have gone off the best track. Library Research Methods should be required reading for every individual--whether scholar or journalist, law student or scientist--who has ever asked, "Where should I start to find out about this?"
Guide to the Literature of Art History by 
Guide to the Literature of Art History by
Among the most engaging genres of scholarly literature, art history and architecture history publications appeal to the eye as well as the intellect. In the late 20th century the literature of art history has been documented by two standard reference bibliographies published by the American Library Association: Mary Chamberlin's Guide to Art Reference Books (ALA 1959), and Guide to the Literature of Art History by Etta Arntzen and Robert Rainwater (ALA Editions, 1980). Now, a new supplementary volume, Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 (ALA Editions, 2004) has arrived to record and annotate the best art and architecture books and journals published worldwide in the last two decades of the 20th century. supplement its predecessor by recording important publications produced primarily in western languages. Adopting the chapter and numbering system of the first volume, GLAH 2 will help art scholars keep abreast of more recent publications in art and architectural history. An expert team of 24 contributors has come together with editors Max Marmor and Alex Ross to produce this significant work, featuring new titles, volumes, editions, and reprints, while providing ample cross referencing to GLAH 1. and Cultural Heritage, which covers the literature of art preservation and art law. Librarians and scholars will welcome the new collection development information, including: The best electronic art and architectural history sources. Cumulative 40-year bibliography of art history literature, with GLAH 1. Critical selection of nearly all literature in art history, primarily in Western European languages, since 1977. Resources for art historians outside their areas of specialization. architectural literature for the last two decades of the 20th century, Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 is the authoritative, must-have resource for all art history students, institutions, and agencies.
The Oxford Guide to Library Research by
With all of the new developments in information storage and retrieval, researchers today need a clear and comprehensive overview of the full range of their options, both online and offline, for finding the best information quickly. In this third edition of The Oxford Guide to LibraryResearch, Thomas Mann maps out an array not just of important databases and print sources, but of several specific search techniques that can be applied profitably in any area of research. From academic resources to government documents to manuscripts in archives to business Web sites, Mann shows readers how best to exploit controlled subject headings, explains why browsing library shelves is still important in an online age, demonstrates how citation searching and related record searching produce results far beyond keyword inquiries, and offers practical tips on making personal contacts with knowledgeable people. Against the trendy but mistaken assumption that "everything" can be found on the Internet, Mann shows the lasting value of physical libraries and the unexpected power of traditional search mechanisms, while also providing the best overview of the new capabilities of computer indexing. Throughout the book Mann enlivens his advice with real-world examples derived from his experience of having helped thousands of researchers, with interests in all subjects areas, over a quarter century. Along the way he provides striking demonstrations and powerful arguments against those theorists who have mistakenly announced the demise of print. Essential reading for students, scholars, professional researchers, and laypersons, The Oxford Guide to Library Research offers a rich, inclusive overview of the information field, one that can save researchers countless hours of frustration in the search for the best sources on their topics.
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by 
Writing about Art by 
Writing about Art by 