Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library, Main Stacks open for 24-hour access during RRR, finals weeks. Learn more.

Film Studies: Articles and Film Review Sources

Film Studies Article Databases

Off campus access to the databases marked with the "lock" icon are limited to UCB users; set up instructions.

See below for article databases for finding primary sources/historical articles.

Film Review Sources

Scores indicate % of critics included that rated a film positively, in the judgment of the RT staff.  Each review is judged either "fresh" or "rotten."  If a film has received 60% "fresh" reviews in the judgment of the staff, the movie is certified "Fresh." Note that  a 90% score means that 90% of critics included by RT have given the movie a positive review, even if most of those reviews are lukewarm; a 60% score means that 60% of the critics have given the movie a positive review,  even if all of those critics might have given the movie outstanding reviews.

Click on the "Top Critics" tab to find reviews by a selective subset of critics, principally those writing for major newspapers. 

Metacritic includes fewer critics than Rotten Tomatoes and assigns each review a score on a scale of 100; the scores are  averaged for a final score for the film.

Article Databases - Historical

Lantern (Media History Digital Library - University of Wisconsin, Madison)

includes searchable full text of 50 early film and radio magazines, including Variety (Dec. 1905- Feb. 1926) and Photoplay (1914-1943)