Use bibliographic tools like these to either focus or broaden your research:
Archival Collections and Primary Sources • Article Databases and Indexes • Bibliographies and Subject Guides • Book Review Sources • Dissertation and Theses • French Libraries • News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites
The complete list of databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.
Available in Print Only
The French Revolution and Human Rights by Below is a selection of article indexes and databases pertinent to French and Francophone Studies. You can find a complete list of all Berkeley databases subscriptions at the A-Z database list.
The first three are highly recommended:
Available in Print Only
Selected lists of materials in any format organized around a common theme or topic.
Online Resources
Available in Print Only
The Cambridge History of French Literature by 
Dictionnaire littéraire des femmes de langue française : de Marie de France à Marie NDiaye by 
The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature by 
La France : d'un siècle à l'autre : 1914-2000 : dictionnaire critique by 
Historical Dictionary of French Theater by 
The library databases for this grouping index publications mostly from Europe and the U.S. MLA, Cairn, Historical Abstracts, and Periodicals Index Online are also good article databases for locating discipline-specific reviews in French or Francophone studies as are specific journals like The French Review or French Studies. Because of its broad coverage, UC Library Search can be of the best places to find book reviews (hint: refine by "resource type" review).
Online Resources
Available in Print Only
Some sources to peruse for new French publications include:
Find dissertations by searching Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT), which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.
Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley and at other UCs can be found in UC Library Search, limiting to dissertations under "Resource Type."
Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
For more extensive indexing of doctoral dissertations and theses from Western Europe, here are a few other resources to consult:
Catalogs and guides to books, periodicals, and other materials in not only French libraries and archives but also other important collections worldwide.
Online Resources
Available in Print Only
French vernacular books : books published in the French language before 1601 = Livres vernaculaires français : livres imprimés en français avant 1601 by 
Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.
Online Resources
