Library Guides: GWS: Gender and Women's Studies: Articles

Article databases

The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Consult the A-Z Databases list to see them. Search for or browse online resources by subject (broad academic disciplines) or by database type (article databases, book and film reviews, statistics and numeric data, etc.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers major journals in mass media, journalism, advertising, and other communication-related fields. (Comm Abs) [1977 - present]
Indexes 160 sources, with over 44,000 records reflecting articles, reports, papers and books covering communication literature in subjects such as mass media, journalism, advertising, marketing, public opinion, interpersonal communication and organizational communication.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 190 countries. [1980 - present]
Indexes a wide range of journals, hard-to-find newsletters, reports, pamphlets, fact sheets, and guides covering a broad array of gender-related issues such as violence, economic development, health, the military, education, human rights, and law. Covers sources published by organizations around the world.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
International journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. [1970s - present]
Includes magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional journals worldwide. [1980 - present]
Related to the fields of social work, social welfare, human services, community development, and social policy.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world. (Womens Studies International) [1972 - present]
Also indexes other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Google Scholar: Cited by

Ever wanted to trace an article or book’s impact? Try searching within citing articles.

Do a search in Google Scholar. In the results, you can click on the "Cited by" link under the citation.

Find a known item in Google Scholar

1. Enter keywords from title. (Also add keywords from journal if necessary.)

2. Click on the title or links to get full-text. (See Off-Campus Access for more details.)

BASE

Created by Bielefeld University Library, BASE is an excellent resource for finding academic web resources. The search tool provides more than 300 million documents from more than 11,000 content providers. About 60% of the content is freely available (Open Access).

Unlike Google Scholar, BASE allows you to search just the metadata of documents, not the full text of the resources indexed.

The Basic search provides a single search field and will search all of metadata by default. On the search results page, there are facets that allow you to limit your search results (for example, subject, language, year of publication).

The Advance search allows you to specify which metadata fields you want to search (for example, author, title, doi) and to limit your search to different types of documents, publication year, and other facets.

Search Help provides guidance on how to construct a search. Like many of other search engines, a search for more than one term automatically retreieves results containting all the terms. Quotation marks can be used for phrase searching. But other search syntax is availalble to help you construct more sophisticated searches.

Plural, genitive and other word forms will be searched automatically. To disable this feature, choose "Verbatim search" in the advanced search or in the search field on the results page.

If you choose the option "Multi-lingual search" in the advanced search or in the search field on the results page you can also search for synonyms and translations, provided that the search term is included in Eurovoc Thesaurus or Agrovoc Thesaurus.

Secondary menu

GWS: Gender and Women's Studies: Articles

Article databases

Google Scholar: Cited by

Find a known item in Google Scholar

BASE