GWS: Gender and Women's Studies: Citing

Citation managers (also called reference managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. 

All citation management programs let you:

• Add citations from databases like PubMed, Web of Science, etc.
• Organize your citations into folders or groups
• Add PDF files of articles to the references
• Format citations in Microsoft Word (and other document programs such as Google Docs) to create bibliographies in any of 1000s of styles
• Share all or part of your database, with various degrees of permissions, and collaborate with others on documents

Four popular citation managers are listed below. The Manage Your Citations guide provides more information about the differences between them. 

Zotero  [guide]

Mendeley  [guide]

​Endnote  [guide]

The once familiar APA 6th style has been replaced, as of 2020, with a 7th edition. The new style manual includes some significant changes to formatting papers and has attempted to make language more inclusive and bias free. Among some of the new changes:

• DOIs are now formatted as URLs
• Authors no longer need to include the phrase "Retrieved from" before a URL
• The singular "they" is now endorsed by APA as a gender-neutral pronoun
• The running head on the title page no longer includes the phrase "RUNNING HEAD" and is no longer needed in student papers at all
• Use only one space after a period at the end of a sentence
• For more, see APA Guide: Summary of Changes from the University of Texas Arlington libraries
• Also consult the online Concise APA Handbook (2021) by Lida, Reugg, and de Boer

The cheat sheet from Purdue now reflects APA 7. Also take a look at:

• APA Style Website
• APA Style: 7th Edition Quick Reference Guide
• EasyBib Guide to APA Format Papers
• Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style