Journalism: Scavenger Hunt

Make sure to bring:

• A phone, tablet, or some other device that connects to the internet.
• Recommended: a mask.

Instructions

• Meet your group at the North entrance to the Doe Library (across from Memorial Glade). If weather permits, meet outside the entrance; otherwise, meet inside the lobby (near the information desk).
• Go through the library and fulfill each "challenge" according to the instructions.
• Take photos/selfies to document completing each challenge.
• Work in pairs or groups of three.
• Your mentor will tell you which challenge to start with. (Good starting points have an *asterisk mark.)
• After completing the scavenger hunt, email your mentor a link to a bDrive folder with your photos. The title of the bDrive folder should include the names of all teammates: "Library Scavenger Hunt-Names of Group Members"

Note

• This scavenger hunt will ask you to take selfies. If you would prefer not to appear in the photos, that's 100% okay. Simply take a picture of the resource or locations as instructed.

Grab a map!

Maps will be available at the Info Desk upon entering the library. Picking one up when you enter the building will make your hunt easier!

Here is a link to a PDF of the map in case you miss this step.

• Doe Library

About

• Use UC Library Search to search all of the books in the Library's collection. (You can search on your phone or device or on any computer available in the library. Public computers are available in the Reference Hall and near the Circulation Desk, among other locations.) 
• You can also use UC Library Search to find journal articles, magazine articles, audiobooks, and much more.
• UC Library Search will also show you the books held by other UC Libraries.
• The UC Library Search User Guide has tips on using Library of Congress Call Numbers.

Instructions

• In UC Library Search, find a book by or about a writer/journalist of your choice (ex. Nikole Hannah-Jones, Ida B. Wells, Delilah Beasley)
• Check to make sure the book's status is Available and it is located in the Doe Library Main (Gardner) Stacks. If it's not available in the Doe Library Main (Gardner) Stacks, choose another book.
• If you are not searching on your phone, take a picture of the call number. The call number will help you locate the book on the shelf. 

About

• The Gardner Main Stacks, located between the Doe Library and The Moffit Library, houses over 5 million books.
• There are 4 levels (A, B, C, D) of stacks with compact an open shelving.  Refer to the map of each level to determine where to locate your book.  Maps are posted online and on the wall of each level.
• Going to the stacks in person can be a magical experience, allowing you to browse the shelves for many books that may be of interest to your projects.
• Be prepared to show your Cal ID card before entering.
• Food and drinks are not allowed.
• If you'd like to borrow books, all you need is your Cal ID card.

Challenge

• Time to visit the Main Stacks! Enter the Main Stacks from the Doe Library main level near the Circulation Desk. (You'll need to show your Cal ID.)
• Use the book's call number to find the book on the shelf. (Tip: the first 2 letters of the call number are often posted on the walls to help you find the right shelf. You may need to crank the shelves open in order to retrieve the book.)
• Take a selfie with the book you found. 

About

• Morrison Library is a one-room library located inside the Doe Library building, on the first floor. (It is across from the North security desk and Doe 190. See more info.)
• You can find newly released fiction and nonfiction, as well as poetry by local authors, graphic novels, and some young adult literature. In addition, read newspapers, magazines, and literary journals.
• Morrison also has a record collection and a record player to play them on!
• Morrison has a strict no device rule -- the space is designed for immersive and pleasure reading, so come prepared to cozy up with print books.
• Morrison has more limited hours than Doe, so check the Library's hours page for details.

Challenge

• Morrison is located just inside the Doe entrance, across from the North security desk and Doe 190. See floor map. 
• Take a peek at Morrison through the glass doors. It has shorter hours than the main library, so sure to come back during the daytime to enjoy its tranquil atmosphere and comfy chairs. 
• Take a selfie with the iconic Mark Twain sculpture in the lobby.

About

• The Newspapers & Microforms Library houses the library's principle collection of newspapers, with active newsprint subscriptions and titles archived on microform formats (i.e. microfilm and microfiche).
• The collection includes a range of current and historical news sources, including major California newspapers along with others from around the world.  
• Recent newspapers in print can be viewed in the Newspapers & Microforms Library. They cannot be checked out of the library.
• Older issues are available on microform. Microfilm in this collection does not circulate but you can scan articles to a flash drive for free.
• Check here for library hours.  This unit is not open on weekends and researchers may need to make an appointment in advance to access materials during semester breaks.

Challenge

• Find the Newspapers & Microforms Library or 40 Doe, located in the basement of the Doe Library. See floor map.
• Take a picture of the front door.  Plan to come back and do some in person research.
• Hint: If you're having trouble finding the library, ask for directions at the Information Desk near the entrance of Doe. 

About

• Some reference materials are available in print form only.
• We keep such materials on the second floor of the Doe Library in the Reference Hall.
• Materials here can be used only in the library in order to ensure that they are available for everyone.

Challenge

• Go to the Reference Hall on the 2nd floor of Doe Library. See floor map.
• Find The SAGE Guide to Key Issues in Mass Media Ethics and Law (Call number: KF2750 .S34 2015) and take a selfie of yourself with one of the books. 
• Put it back exactly where you found it!!

(Note: a portion of the Reference collection is housed in the North Reading Room, one of the most iconic places in the Doe Library. It's an excellent place to study and is known for its grandeur and silence. Be sure to take a peek while you are visiting the Reference collection, but keep in mind that talking and photography are not allowed.)
 

About

• Scanners and printers are available in the Reference Hall and many other locations.
• Scanning to email is free.
• For more information, see https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/visit/print-scan

Challenge

• Go to the Reference Hall on the 2nd floor of Doe Library.
• Choose any book from the Reference collection and scan page 23.
• Email the scan to yourself. You will include it later in your team's bDrive folder. 

About

• The Heyns Reading Room houses the library's collection of recent journals (and magazines).
• Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are first published in journals. We often read them online now, but many are still first made available in print.
• Recent issues can be viewed in the Heyns Reading Room. They cannot be checked out of the library.
• Older issues are bound together and look like books. They are stored in the Main Stacks. They can be checked out of the library.

Challenge

• Go to the Heyns Reading Room on the 2nd floor of Doe Library. (Tip: the Heyns Reading Room has a large painting of George Washington on the back wall. See floor map.
• Look for a print ("unbound") version of a recent issue of any journal. Flip through the pages. How does it look different from popular magazines?
• Take a picture of the journal.
• Hint: Unbound issues of journals are stored on the shelves lining the walls of the room. 

About

• Bancroft Library is an internationally renowned archive.
• If Bancroft happens to have archival material related to one of your research topics, take advantage of the opportunity to view the material in person.
• Visiting an archive usually requires making requests for materials in advance, booking an appointment, storing most of your belongings in a locker, and going through a security checkpoint on the way in and out. It can feel intimidating, but once you know what to expect, it'll be a breeze.

Challenge

• Locate the entrance to Bancroft (inside the Doe Library building) and take a picture there.  See floor map.
• Hint: The Bancroft East Entrance is located across from the Campanile.

• Put all of the pictures you took today AND the scan you made of the reference book page into one bDrive folder.
• Title the folder "Library Scavenger Hunt-Names of Group Members"
• Email the link to the folder to your mentor.
• Be sure to include the names of the other people on your team.