Index of of works related to English language and literature. [1920 - present]
Indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations related to English language and literature.
The most comprehensive bibliography and index of publications on German language and literary studies. [2004-]
The standard work for searching German literary and linguistics journals; often referred to by the names of their earlier editors, Eppelsheimer and Kottelwesch. Covers 2004 to current.
Documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another place across the United States.
DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970 and on a comprehensive collection of written materials (diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, government documents, etc.) that cover our history from the colonial period to the present.
An online dictionary covering the first six centuries of the English language (600 - 1150 A.D.). (DOE online)
Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.
A complete record of most surviving Old English texts
Consists of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. Sometimes more than one copy is included if the additional copy is significant because of dialect or date. The DOE contains over three million words in Old English and less than a million in Latin.
Scholarly online encyclopedia of contemporary linguistics, including phonetics, syntax, morphology and applications in other disciplines.
Covers the topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines such as anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, cognitive science, media, computer science, sociology, medicine, and the law. Includes video, audio, and image files.
Reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages.
The Ethnologue is a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries. The Ethnologue Name Index lists over 39,000 language names, dialect names, and alternate names. The Ethnologue Language Family Index organizes languages according to language families.
Provides access to three Middle English electronic resources: Middle English Dictionary, Bibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
Provides access to three Middle English electronic resources: Middle English Dictionary, Bibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
Complete record of surviving Old English texts with the exception of a few variants. Searchable by word and word combinations and word proximity. (Dictionary of Old English)
Complete record of surviving Old English texts with the exception of a few variants. Searchable by word and word combinations and word proximity.
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Contains detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. NOTE: Some off-campus users have reported issues when accessing OED with Chrome. Patrons are encouraged to use other browsers.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Entries contain detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
Online bilingual dictionaries published by Oxford University Press including English to French, Spanish, German, Italian, and Latin. Includes several bilingual business dictionaries.
Access to several bilingual dictionaries published by Oxford University Press including English to French, Spanish, German, Italian, and Latin. Includes several bilingual business dictionaries.
Scholary online dictionary and encyclopedias of language, including coverage of abbreviations, phrases, etymology, slang, grammar, semiotics and more.
Access to a number of reference sources on abbreviations, phrases, etymology, language, slang, grammar, etc., all published by Oxford University Press. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Scholarly online encyclopedias and dictionaries on linguistics, rhetoric, language and semiotics.
Access to reference sources published by Oxford University Press on the topic of linguistics, rhetoric, language and semiotics. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.
