Whenever possible, use resource links found in UC Library Search, Databases A-Z or eJournals (UC eLinks)
When you click on library links, you will be prompted to authenticate. You may authenticate via CalNet, or via your PIN / Cal 1 card number.
When you click on a resource link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you will need to use a bookmarklet or Chrome extension to access the licensed resource.
You can also use the campus VPN to access library resources.
Indexes over 2000 monographs, books, technical reports, occasional papers, book reviews, and dissertations worldwide related to linguistics including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
[1973 - present]
Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Catalog and archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas.
The archive includes thousands of audio clips in 90 languages collected in field recordings dating back to 1949. In addition to digital audio files, the archive contains scanned manuscript pages from the Department of Linguistics' Survey of California and Other Indian Languages research center. With a special focus on California, the archive also includes native languages from Alaska to South America and from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic. CLA is a collaboration between the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages and the Berkeley Language Center (BLC), both archives at UC Berkeley.
A database of language endangerment levels with references to collections and recordings of oral literature that exist in archives around the world.
A free online portal from the World Oral Literature Project at the University of Cambridge. Using data on language endangerment drawn from three authoritative sources (Ethnologue, the UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger, and the work of conservation biologist William Sutherland ), the database provides access to collections and recordings of oral literature that exist in archives around the world. (Oral literature "may include ritual texts, curative chants, epic poems, musical genres, folk tales, creation tales, songs, myths, spells, legends, proverbs, riddles, tongue-twisters, word games, recitations, life histories or historical narratives").
Reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages.
The Ethnologue is a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries. The Ethnologue Name Index lists over 39,000 language names, dialect names, and alternate names. The Ethnologue Language Family Index organizes languages according to language families.
Indexes over 2000 monographs, books, technical reports, occasional papers, book reviews, and dissertations worldwide related to linguistics including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
[1973 - present]
Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
• Glottolog: Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Citations for articles, reports, and obituaries covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (AnthroLit - Tozzer file - Anthropological Index - Anthropological Literature) [Late 19th century - present]
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Citations for journal articles spanning all Social Science disciplines; provides searching of footnoted citations. Specify Social Science Citation Index search only by deselecting other Indexes in "Limits". [1956 - present]
Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts
