Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Peace and Conflict: Articles

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete.  Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. 

Alternative Press Index. Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. 

America: History and Life. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, and a targeted selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Digital Law Commons: Military, War, and Peace Open-access database of legal scholarship related military, war, and peace. See also the section on International Humanitarian Law.

Eldis: Conflict and Security. Open access database on international development and related topics. Eldis supports free and open access to useful and relevant research on global development challenges. 

Google Scholar. Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Hein Online. Digital collection of the complete contents of legal and law-related materials. Includes sevral libraries devoted to international law, including the World Treaty Library and United Nations Law Collection.

Historical Abstracts. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.

Humanities International Complete.  Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals from 1927 to present. 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Publications in economics, political science, sociology and anthropology from over 100 countries.

JSTOR. Scholarly journals and books from a range of disciplines. Current issues (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available.

Left Index. Alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, reports, and web sites related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Project Muse. Articles and books in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and others.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Wide range of scholarly sources in the social sciences. An excellent starting database for interdisciplinary research.

Women's Studies International. Content on women's studies, women's issues, gender-focused books and book chapters, journal and magazine articles, and reports world-wide. 

 

Finding Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  From the Library home page, select "Databases" and then click on "Browse All Databases." On the next screen, use the drop down menu for All Subjects to find your discipline.
search databases on the home page screenshot

Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.