Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Peace and Conflict: Primary Sources

Digital Archives

Archives Direct.  Collections of "confidential print" and foreign office files issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices over the years for areas worldwide, including Latin AmericaApartheid South Africa, the Middle EastIndia Pakistan and Afghanistan, and more. 

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries. Published memoirs, letters and diaries on almost every aspect of the war. Includes writings by politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seamen, wives and spies. 

Archives Unbound. Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students ​

CAIN Web Service - Conflict and Politics in Northern Ireland. Contains information and source material on 'the Troubles' and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present. There is also some material on society in the region. CAIN is located in Ulster University.

Civil Rights Digital Library.  Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. 

Empire Online. Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support research in the field of colonial and empire studies. [1492-1962]

First World War. Drawings and paintings, government and military papers, trench literature and soldiers' journals, photographs, letters, and film clips are just a few of the types of primary sources included.

Language of Peace. Database developed by a partnership between the University of Cambridge and the UN Mediation Unit, provides instant search capability across around 1000 post-World War II peace agreements.

Margarita S. Studemeister Digital Collections in International Conflict Management. Digital library with collections of peace agreements and truth commissions.

Plowshares Digital Archive of Peace Studies.  A collaboration of Earlham, Goshen, and Manchester colleges, provides minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals from the 1700's to present.

Truth Commissions Digital Collections. Contains profiles of truth commissions and substantive bodies of inquiry from nations worldwide - offering general background on each body, official texts establishing the commissions, and commission's final reports and findings.

U.S. Declassified Documents. Documents declassified via the Freedom of Information Act and regular declassification requests, make broad-based and highly targeted investigation of government documents possible. 

Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975. Includes microfilm collections; records of the Associated Press's Saigon Bureau, Military Assistance and Advisory Command, Vietnam; and National Security Files from administrations.

World Peace Library.  Hundreds of audio recordings with inspirational stories, skills training and powerful solutions by the world’s top peacebuilders, social change leaders, scientists, Indigenous elders and spiritual mentors.

Film and Video

The UC Berkeley Libraries have access to thousands of film and video resources.  Some are available via live streaming, others are housed in the Media Resources Center or the Pacific Film Archive. Search Oskicat and specify Films/Video/Slides.

Kanopy. Extensive searchable database of on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, including hundreds of war documentaries. Examples include:

Media Resource Center. UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of materials in audio and visual formats, including DVDs, videocassettes, streamed audio and video, compact audio discs, and audiocassettes

Library Research Guides

There are many  library guides on peace studies, international security and international humanitarian law.  Selections are listed below.   

Peace and Justice Studies - Michigan State Library.

Peace and Security - Oxford University.

Program on International Law and Armed Conflict - Harvard University Library.

Peace Palace Library Research Guides. Includes topic guides on DisarmamentInternational Peace and Security,Intervention,Use of Force,War and Peace, and Disarmament