Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Scandinavian : Giving

Giving to the Scandinavian Studies Collection

Private donors are very important in sustaining the excellence of our collections and services.

The following types of gifts are available:

Book Donations: Gifts of scholarly materials and the results of research have historically represented a significant element in the development of our outstanding research collections. We welcome individual gifts, but due to space and staff limitations, we must be judicious in accepting large contributions. Contact Jeremy Ott, Classics and Germanic Studies Librarian, about the materials you wish to donate.

Donations of recently published books are also welcomed. New book purchases will be checked to ensure titles are not on order.

Memorial and Honorific Gifts: Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person are welcomed. For a gift of $1,000 or more, a named memorial book fund can be established. A special book plate will be created and placed in each book.

Named Endowment: Endowment funds may be established with a gift of $50,000 or more. These funds provide the library with an annual income in perpetuity and have a lasting impact on maintaining a world class collection within the Library's Scandinavian Studies Collection. The University invests its endowments carefully to achieve a healthy rate of return that provides for both current needs and long-term growth. A special book plate will be created and placed in each book.

Cash Gifts for Book Purchases: Cash contributions of any amount are welcomed and can be made directly to the Library using the online form.  In the section marked "I am giving in honor of someone," write in "Scandinavian Studies Collection."

If you prefer to send a check, make it payable to the UC Regents (indicate that it is for the Scandinavian Studies Collection) and mail it to: Jeremy Ott, Classics and Germanic Studies Librarian, 438 Doe Memorial Library, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720.