It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Pharmaceutical and Health Care reports for most countries. Select Geography--> Country, then select reports for Pharma or Medical Devices or Health Care from the left pane.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.
Technical analysis and market insights into emerging technologies and devices. Worldwide and country-specific coverage.
Industries include: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Systems; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control
Overview of industries: brand name and generic pharmaceuticals, drug manufacturing for specific conditions, pharmacy benefits, health insurance, contract research and other support services, biotech, OTC drugs for specific conditions. Reports detail operations, supply chains, benchmarks, barriers to entry, major players in market, statistics and glossary of terms for the industry.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
Demographic surveys about attitudes towards medical conditions and use of therapies.
Provides the fulltext of market research reports in these product categories: beauty, personal goods and toiletries; clothing, footwear and accessories; drink and tobacco; electrical goods; food and foodservice; health and wellbeing; holidays and travel; house and home; leisure time, lifestages; media, books, and stationery, personal finance; retail; and technology/telecoms. Reports cover specific product/country markets and discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Geographic emphasis is on the U.S. and Europe.
Detailed surveys of Pharmaceutical, Biotechnology industries. Look for reports under Industry Surveys. Industry trends, operations, how to analyze a company's operations and financials from an investment point of view. Major companies.
Industry snapshots with competitive landscape and opportunities in US manufacturing for pharmaceutical, biotech, medical devices and other industries.
Lists of industry associations and industry journals and databases.
Market research reports for pharmaceuticals and medical devices worldwide with a focus on countries classified as emerging economies.
In-depth coverage of company analysis, industry research, economic reports, forecasts, market dailies, macroeconomic statistics, deals, and financial reports for emerging market economies. Includes over one million company profiles and ratings from international & local rating agencies as well as company and industry news from thousands of foreign national and international newspapers, magazines, and journals. Additional sources of information include Euromonitor, Business Monitor International, Oxford Economics, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mintel. Information is provided in fifteen of the world's major languages.
Based on detailed surveys of consumers and pharmacies, data on household medical expenditures by specific condition. Data on specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers. Summary tables available by disease also. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, AHRQ.
Healthcare industry data covering longer time periods are available for download from Wharton Research Data Service's Public dataset (available only inside the Haas building, request a day pass from WRDS using your UC Berkeley email address.) Datasets available:
HCUP (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project) Diagnoses and Procedures - can filter by major diagnoses/procedure categories and get data by mean/median charges and outcomes.
MEPS (Medical Expenditure Panel Survey) Expenditures: expenditures by health care service (Medicaid, Medicare, private insurance), insurance expenditures, medical condition expenditures, per health incident cost, expenditures by length of hospital stay, expenditures for top prescribed drugs and drug classes.
Compiled by the World Health Organization, this site has links for WHO essential medicine prices in different countries and links to sources for drug prices in most of the Americas (except United States), Europe, Middle East, Southeast Asia and Western Pacific.
"For each prescriber and drug, the dataset includes the total number of prescriptions that were dispensed, which include original prescriptions and any refills, and the total drug cost. The total drug cost includes the ingredient cost of the medication, dispensing fees, sales tax, and any applicable administration fees and is based on the amount paid by the Part D plan, Medicare beneficiary, government subsidies, and any other third-party payers." - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Statistics from government and market research sources on drugs and devices worldwide.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Business Source Complete has Pharmaceutical Industry reports for most countries from MarketLine and Pharmaceutical and Health Care reports for most countries from Business Monitor Online (FitchConnect).
Factiva: Excellent business news coverage. Use the Subject and Industry search tabs in your search. Searchable subjects include: alternative medicine, medical treatments/procedures, new product approvals, research/development. Searchable industries are under Health Care/Life Sciences and include Medical Equipment/Supplies (drug delivery, instruments, materials, and Pharmaceuticals (biopharmaceuticals, generic drugs, over the counter drugs, traditional chinese medicine, herbal medicines)
Economist, Fortune, WSJ,New York Times, Barrons, Venture Capital Journal, China Business Review, are some of the leading reporters for businesses and industries.
SelectUSA has lists of journals by industry. Search library catalog for journals where articles are not freely available online - if UCB Library does not subscribe to a journal, request articles through the library's interlibrary loan. (Reports that are not in a specific journal can not be requested through interlibrary loan.)
Investment research and commentary from Standard & Poor's, including detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.
Provides proprietary reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts. Regularly updated publications include S and P's Industry Surveys, The Outlook, Credit Week, and directories of private companies, executives, and security dealers.
Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Create a free individual account with a Berkeley email before using; does not require EZProxy.
Public company financials and filings, private company information and investment details, M&A, industry surveys, screening and charting.
S&P Capital IQ Pro, formerly known as SNL Energy and S&P Market Intelligence, can be accessed by clicking "S&P Capital IQ Pro" in the upper right after logging in.
A guide for Berkeley users can be found at https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=1189557
Replaces UC Berkeley's NetAdvantage subscription. If this link takes you to NetAdvantage instead of a login page for S&P, try restarting your browser, clearing your cache, or opening in an incognito browser.
For pharmaceutical companies: detailed company and pipeline reports by Clarivate Analytics selected from Cortellis for Competitive Intelligence. To access: select Investext tab-->Advanced Search--> Contributor Lookup (select Clarivate Analytics)-->Industry Lookup and/or CompanyLookup. Select dates. Submit search by clicking on the >> symbols. Investext is also a good source for accessing detailed company analyst reports in all healthcare related industries. Select company or industry and set a date range to search.
Provides financial information on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.
Source for biomedical literature citations, systematic reviews and evidence based medicine research. Allow searching by drugs, device, manufacturer, etc.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Search biomedical literature citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. [1950 - present]
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It button for full text access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Chemistry reference source includes patents, substances, synthesis & regulated chemical information. In addition, indexes chemistry journals, technical reports, dissertations, books in chemical engineering, materials science, biomedical sciences.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts. Note: SciFinder-n is the next generation SciFinder platform. You can choose to use either until the old version is phased out, but SciFinder-n includes an updated search algorithm and enhanced features, including synthesis planning
To find journals in a specific biomedical area, search the library catalog for journals by subjects such as: Pharmacology Experimental, Clinical Pharmacology, Medicine Formulae, Biotechnology, Medical Instruments and Apparatus, etc. Restrict results to Journals - up along the top of the page, there is a box that will say "Entire Collection" - there is a drop-down menu here where you can choose Journals, then press the Search button again.