Library Guides: Pharmaceutical, Biotech and Medical Devices: Home

Market and Industry Research

FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
Pharmaceutical and Health Care reports for most countries. Select Geography--> Country, then select reports for Pharma or Medical Devices or Health Care from the left pane.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.
Frost and Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Technical analysis and market insights into emerging technologies and devices. Worldwide and country-specific coverage.
Industries include: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Systems; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Overview of industries: brand name and generic pharmaceuticals, drug manufacturing for specific conditions, pharmacy benefits, health insurance, contract research and other support services, biotech, OTC drugs for specific conditions. Reports detail operations, supply chains, benchmarks, barriers to entry, major players in market, statistics and glossary of terms for the industry.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
EMIS This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for pharmaceuticals and medical devices worldwide with a focus on countries classified as emerging economies.
In-depth coverage of company analysis, industry research, economic reports, forecasts, market dailies, macroeconomic statistics, deals, and financial reports for emerging market economies. Includes over one million company profiles and ratings from international & local rating agencies as well as company and industry news from thousands of foreign national and international newspapers, magazines, and journals. Additional sources of information include Euromonitor, Business Monitor International, Oxford Economics, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mintel. Information is provided in fifteen of the world's major languages.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Detailed surveys of Pharmaceutical, Biotechnology industries. Look for reports under Industry Surveys. Industry trends, operations, how to analyze a company's operations and financials from an investment point of view. Major companies.
SelectUSA
Industry snapshots with competitive landscape and opportunities in US manufacturing for pharmaceutical, biotech, medical devices and other industries.
Lists of industry associations and industry journals and databases.
Medical Devices and Biopharma Report
US manufactured devices and biopharma industry report for investors

Funding

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Note:UCB Access. Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Select "Log in with SSO" and use your @berkeley.edu address for access.

Statistics/Datasets

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics from government and market research sources on drugs and devices worldwide.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.

Drugs Prescribed in US
Data for US prescribed drugs and drugs by therapeutic class.
Medical Expenditure Survey
Based on detailed surveys of consumers and pharmacies, data on household medical expenditures by specific condition. Data on specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers. Summary tables available by disease also. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, AHRQ.
NCHS' Therapeutic Drug Use Data in the United States
Medicine Price Information Sources
Compiled by the World Health Organization, this site has links for WHO essential medicine prices in different countries and links to sources for drug prices in most of the Americas (except United States), Europe, Middle East, Southeast Asia and Western Pacific.
Drugs paid for by Medicare Part D
"For each prescriber and drug, the dataset includes the total number of prescriptions that were dispensed, which include original prescriptions and any refills, and the total drug cost. The total drug cost includes the ingredient cost of the medication, dispensing fees, sales tax, and any applicable administration fees and is based on the amount paid by the Part D plan, Medicare beneficiary, government subsidies, and any other third-party payers." - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
US and International Health Statistics and Data (from Biosciences, Natural Resources and Public Health Library)
See Public Health Library's guide to Health Statistics available on more granular geographic levels and more granular disease conditions.

News

Factiva
Up to date business news coverage from international business news sources.
Use Subject and Industry search tabs in your search. Searchable subjects include: alternative medicine, medical treatments/procedures, new product approvals, research/development. Searchable industries are under Health Care/Life Sciences and include Medical Equipment/Supplies (drug delivery, instruments, materials, and Pharmaceuticals (biopharmaceuticals, generic drugs, over the counter drugs, traditional chinese medicine, herbal medicines)
Business Source Complete
Business news and magazines with pharmaceutical, medical and complementary medicine industry coverage.

MD+DI - Medical Devices and Diagnostic Industry news, product information and online magazine aimed at device and diagnostic equipment manufacturers.

Pharmacy Times is available freely and has articles on various OTC, brand name and generic drugs. Annual lists of top drugs. Search for Top drugs in the search box. It is indexed from 2007 on in Academic Search Complete database.

Trade Organizations

PhRMA, the industry association representing and advocating for the pharmaceutical industry with position papers, white papers and reports on drugs in development by specific condition.

AAM is the generic pharmaceutical manufacturers association, advocating for and representing the generic manufacturing industry.

IFPMA is the international pharmaceutical manufacters' association with reports advocating for international diseases and drugs.

Biomedical Literature

Embase This link opens in a new window
Source for biomedical literature citations, systematic reviews and evidence based medicine research. Allow searching by drugs, device, manufacturer, etc.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Chemistry reference source includes patents, substances, synthesis & regulated chemical information. In addition, indexes chemistry journals, technical reports, dissertations, books in chemical engineering, materials science, biomedical sciences.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.

Current Protocols in Pharmacology
Lab procedures.

To find journals in a specific biomedical area, search the library catalog for journals by subjects such as: Pharmacology Experimental, Clinical Pharmacology, Medicine Formulae, Biotechnology, Medical Instruments and Apparatus, etc. Restrict results to Journals - up along the top of the page, there is a box that will say "Entire Collection" - there is a drop-down menu here where you can choose Journals, then press the Search button again.

See Public Health Library for comprehensive health sciences resources.

Laws, Regulations, Policy

Federal Drug Administration (FDA)
Laws and policies on food, drugs, and medical devices in the U.S. Drug approvals and recalls. Information for industry, consumers and healthcare professionals.
Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Select the Medicare Coverage Database link for data on Medicare and Medicaid enrollment, coverage, reimbursement policies, trials and registeries, etc.

For books and reports on drug laws, search the library catalog for Drugs Laws and Legislation or for Pharmacy Laws and Legislation.

Drug/Device Approvals

FDA Drug Approvals - see Approved Drug Products (Orange Book), Drugs@FDA (brand name, generics, therapeutic biologic products), Purple Book for biologics and biosimilars approved.
FDA Drug Approvals by Month - select link to Drug Approvals by Month
AccessMedicine has a guide to Diagnostic Tests and FDA Drug Approvals (look under the Quick Reference tab),
FDA Medical Device Approvals

International Medical Devices Database of faulty or recalled medical devices

Secondary menu

Pharmaceutical, Biotech and Medical Devices: Home