Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

Physical Education, Sports Medicine & Physiology: Books / eBooks

Find books, ebooks, journals

Start Your Search [UC Berkeley Discovery Tool] Guide to Start Your Search: What's Included.

Oskicat [UC Berkeley]

  • Search for books, e-books, journals, dissertations, reports, materials by topic, author or series.
  • Renew your books
  • Find course reserves
  • Request items from other libraries, from storage, or checked out by other patrons
  • Refine your search to a specific library, available items or online items.

Melvyl  [UC, selected UCB libraries not in Oskicat]

  • Search for articles,books, ebooks, journals, dissertations from UCB-subscribed journals
  • Search libraries worldwide
  • Request items UCB does not own, create and save lists, automatically format citations.

Google Books

  • Search the full text of books Google has scanned
  • Read the full text of most out-of-copyright books
  • View previews or snippets from many books still in copyright
  • Find in a library link will locate the book if it is owned by UC Berkeley

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Graduate dissertations from North America and European graduate schools and universities.
Doctoral dissertations:[1980--] Masters, [1988 --]  Full text of most dissertations [1997--].  [1861 - present]

Dissertations and Theses at University of California
Dissertations and theses from UC campuses, many available with full text.

Dissertations from a UC Berkeley department:
Search OskiCat: keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.
Example: berkeley dissertations energy

InterLibrary Loan & Services IB

UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff:
Interlibrary borrowing: obtain materials from other institutions; view My ILL Requests*

Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP): Borrow materials from Stanford and UT Austin. Check RLCP website for eligibility.

Baker Document Delivery is a fee based Document Delivery Service for UCB faculty, staff, graduate students, and UCOP staff with current UCB library cards. To use Baker you must have a Baker account (see below). 

Copyright information: UC Berkeley, UC system-wide

Non-UC Berkeley users and institutions:
Interlibrary lending of original material: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutional borrowers in the United States and Canada.

Photoduplication services: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutions and the general public.

Special Library Access document delivery services: provides access to the resources of the UC Berkeley Libraries for libraries, information centers, corporations, and other organizations on a subscriber basis.