It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by Karin KniselyCovers reading technical literature and writing scientific papers, to preparing lab reports and making oral presentations of scientific findings. Since scientific communication requires unique competencies on the computer (for example, producing Greek letters and mathematical symbols), almost half of the handbook is devoted familiarizing students with helpful features in Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint--features that are essential to professional quality scientific communication.
Call Number: QH304 .K59 2017
Writing in Biology by Leslie Ann Roldan; Mary-Lou ParduAt once sophisticated and practical, Writing in Biology: A Brief Guide advises students on composing research articles, literature reviews, oral presentations, and other key biology genres. The book gives careful attention to both the governing priciples of audience, purpose, and argument, andthe ground rules for style, visual design, and sourcing. Writing in Biology: A Brief Guide is a part of a series of brief, discipline-specific writing guides from Oxford University Press designed for today's writing-intensive college courses. The series is edited by Thomas Deans (University of Connecticut) and Mya Poe (Northeastern University).
Call Number: QH304 .R65 2016
Writing in the Environmental Sciences by L. Michelle BakerAs an environmental scientist, you are used to writing scientific articles, but how confident do you feel writing policy or regulatory documents? Do you feel you have the necessary writing skills to influence policy and inform the public? This refreshingly clear guide provides environmental scientists and conservation professionals with an effective writing process that can be applied in a range of financial, political, or organizational contexts. Baker outlines a replicable seven-step writing formula based on practical experience that acknowledges the complexities inherent in the worlds of endangered species, habitat conservation, and recovery planning. Using the formula, scientists will be able to communicate confidently and successfully with a multitude of audiences. Baker's guide is written for scientists, not professional writers. In it, best practices abound. Practical examples, strategies, and diagrams guide the reader at every step, and selected resources are provided for further reference.
Call Number: GE70 .B35 2017
Writing the Doctoral Dissertation by Gordon B. Davis; Clyde A. Parker; Detmar W. StraubHere is the first book every prospective doctoral candidate should read. This new edition has been updated to account for recent advances in digital technology and the realities of today's academic world, it presents solid advice on-- Selecting an advisor and a dissertation committee Selecting a dissertation topic Investigating existing knowledge on the topic Making a dissertation proposal Budgeting and scheduling time for research and writing Working with the advisor and dissertation committee Managing dissertation activities Defending and publishing the dissertation.
Call Number: LB2369 .D357 2012
Publication Date: +ebook
Citation counts measure the impact of a publication, an author or a topic, by counting the number of times it is cited by other works. No Single citation analysis source covers all publications and their cited references.
The major citation count resources:
Web of Science: most interdisciplinary and comprehensive citation resource.
Google Scholar: citation information from scholarly journal articles within the Scholar database and from U.S. patents in Google Patents database. Option to eliminate the patents as the source of citation data or to include citations from legal journals and opinions. How to:
Select Advanced Scholar Search (link to right of search button).
Enter search terms
Click Search Scholar button.
Locate the correct article in the search results list.
If the article was cited by others, you will see "Cited by" link at the bottom of the record.
-- Google Scholar does not index all scholarly articles.
-- Author names can be tricky to search and results can vary depending on how the name is entered.
-- Variants in how the item is cited can result in more than one entry for the item under study.
-- The term "citation" in brackets [CITATION] at an entry, indicates that full text is not accessible through Google Scholar.
Other indexes: Proquest, BioOne abstracts and more. Publishers website: Wiley, Elsevier (ScienceDirect), SciFinder Scholar, JSTOR