Includes the decisions, transcripts, docket books, and journals of the Indian Claims Commission (a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes), and related statutes, maps and congressional publications. [1789-present]
It allows researchers to search the full text of documents related to Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.
Access courtesy of the Berkeley Law Library.
In cooperation with the University of Tulsa Law Library and the National Indian Law Library, the OSU Library digitized all 43 volumes of this collection.
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published from 1690-present.
To date, over 200,000 pages of California newspapers have been digitized. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
The Indian Claims Commission was created by the Act of August 13, 1946 to hear claims of 'any Indian tribe, band, or other identifiable group of American Indians' against the United States. The Act provides broad grounds for recovery, including claims based on 'unconscionable consideration' for tribal lands which were taken and 'claims based on fair and honorable dealing not recognized by any existing rule of law or equity. Browse the 'Research Guides' to find relevant information for your information needs
Notes
- Scale 1:4,000,000; 1 in. equals approx. 63 miles.
- "Albers equal area projection."
- Includes text and inset of western Washington.
- Available also through the Library of Congress Web site as a raster image.
- AACR2
Navigating Record Group 75
Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) Records. This guide is arranged geographically by state and thereunder contains a listing of tribes and bands living within that state’s borders.
A typed copy of the original treaties made between 1851 and 1852. The eighteen treaties were signed by members of California Indian tribes and any one of three Treaty Commissioners whose appointments had been authorized by President Fillmore and the United States Senate. The treaties were never ratified by the United States Senate.
A dissertation submitted to the Kent State University Graduate College in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy
by Harvey D. Rosenthal June, 1976
Heizer, R. F, & Kroeber, A. L. (1976). For Sale: California at 47 Cents Per Acre. The Journal of California Anthropology, 3(2). Retrieved from https://escholarship.org/uc/item/9zm9w0z6
Shipek, F. C. (1989). Mission Indians and Indians of California Land Claims. American Indian Quarterly, 13(4), 409–420. https://doi.org/10.2307/1184524
McAuliffe, B. A. (2018). Stolen or Lawful: Case Review of an Indian Tribe's Claim to Aboriginal Land in California. California Western International Law Journal, 49(1), 1-26.
Series 4: Indian Land Claims, 1904-1962.
Microfilm Reels: 150-158
Scope and Content Note
This series contains correspondence, statements, articles, notes, and maps, relating to California Indian land claims.
Series 3: Indian Land Claims, 1891-1969
Microfilm Reels: 120-128
- Scope and Content Note -
This series contains correspondence, legal documents, newsclippings, maps, charts, and notes.
This series is arranged in two subseries, Correspondence, and Legal Documents and Research. It should be noted that Heizer's mentor, Alfred L. Kroeber, was also an expert witness in the land claims hearings, and additional land claims papers may be found in the Alfred L. Kroeber Papers, BANC FILM 1840, Series 4, Indian Land Claims, 1904-1962.
This guide is designed to assist the scholar or student researching the law of the United States as it pertains to the American Indian. Although some of the included resources relate to American Indian tribal law, the focus of the guide is on US law, its doctrinal evolution, and related issues arising from the unique historical relationships of the federal and state governments to American Indian tribes.
