It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Users will need to create a free account in order to download PDFs. Contains significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922. [1849 - 1911]
Offers over 400,000 pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911: the Alta California, 1849-1891; the San Francisco Call, 1893-1910; the Amador Ledger, 1900-1911; the Imperial Valley Press, 1901-1911; the Sacramento Record-Union, 1859-1890; and the Los Angeles Herald, 1905-1907. Additional years are forthcoming, as are other early California newspapers: the Californian; the California Star; the California Star and Californian; the Sacramento Transcript; the Placer Times; and the Pacific Rural Press.
Contains primary and secondary documents such as artwork, speeches, petitions, diaries, journals, correspondence, early linguistic and ethnographic accounts, photographs, maps, rare books and newspapers, ranging from the 16th to the 20th century.
Presents material from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, an extensive archival collection on American Indian history. The content ranges from early contacts with European settlers through the expanded occupation of the American west, up through the Indian political movements of the mid-20th century. The collection covers a wide geographic area with a primary focus on North America and Mexico.
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images. (New York Times - San Francisco Chronicle - Wall Street Journal - Washington Post - Chicago Defender - Chicago Tribune - Los Angeles Times) [1849 - 2003]
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant US newspapers. Our subscription includes access to Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996); and The Washington Post (1877-1997).
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
To date, over 200,000 pages of California newspapers have been digitized. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Historic newspapers as fully text-searchable facsimile images. [1690 - 1900]
Access to hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820." (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
The most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital, and micro formats. [1649-present]
A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period. (The source does not link to full text.)
Full text and index of newspapers covering British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes digitized articles from the Times (London) from 1800-1870, as well citations to the Times (London) from 1790-1980, and a partial index of the New York Times from 1863-1922. (Palmer's Full Text Online - Palmer's Index to the Times - Official Index to the Times - Historical Index to the New York Times)
Indexes newspapers covering all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains four major historical resources: Palmer's Index to the Times which covers The Times (London, 1790-1905); The Official Index to the Times (1906-1980); The Historical Index to the New York Times (1863- 1922); and Palmer's Full Text Online (1785-1870).
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Papers.
A Guide is included for this collection.This massive collection consists of sometwenty-eight sections, many with supplemental files, organized by subject. Here is a list ofall available NAACP files on microfilmin the Periodicals and Newspaper/Microform Room in the basement of Doe Library.
ndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
On October 15, 1825, the General Council of the Cherokee Nation commissioned Elias Boudinott (née George Guist, a Cherokee) to procure two sets of type, English and Cherokee, for a printing press. With the publication of the first issue of the Cherokee Phoenix (Tsalagi Tsu-le-hi-sa-nu-hi) on February 21, 1828, at New Echota, Georgia, the Cherokee Nation became the first Native American tribe with a newspaper.
Elias Boudinott, a seminary-educated Cherokee, was its first editor. Through the newspaper, Boudinott and tribal leaders of the Cherokee nation intended to reach two different audiences: Cherokee nationals and white sympathizers who supported Cherokee autonomy. Sympathizers were cultivated by exchanging newspaper issues with many American and European newspapers, which reprinted Phoenix articles. On February 11, 1829, Boudinott changed the title to the Cherokee phoenix, and Indians' advocate to reflect its dual roles of reporting news of interest to the Cherokee Nation and promoting Cherokee sovereignty to English-speaking readers.
Every newspaper in the database is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy to quickly explore historical content. Use the archive to gain a local perspective on historical news, to research your family history, or to simply read about a person or event of interest. We invite you to visit the archive often, as additional pages will be added as they become available.
White Earth Ojibwe, White Earth, Minnesota, 1998-2012
Anishinaabeg Today began publication 1996 and serves as the official publication of the White Earth Nation. The White Earth Nation is the largest band of Ojibwe (also known as Anishinaabe or Chippewa) in the state of Minnesota, with over 19,000 members, and is one of six constituent bands of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe.
Bois Forte Band, Nett Lake, Minnesota, 1995-2002
Bois Forte News, the newspaper of the Bois Forte Band of Chippewa Indians, began publishing monthly in Nett Lake, Minnesota in 1986 and is still in publication.
Bad River Band, Odanah, Wisconsin, 1995-1999
News from the Sloughs, the newspaper of the Bad River Band of Lake Superior Tribe of Chippewa Indians, began publishing monthly in Odanah, Wisconsin in May 1995 and is still in publication.
Ni-mi-kwa-zoo-min (Cass Lake, Minn.) 1974-1977
Speaking of ourselves (Cass Lake, Minn.) 1977-1997
Ni-mi-kwa-zoo-min, later Speaking of Ourselves = Ni-mah-mi-kwa-zoo-min, was the official newspaper of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe from 1974-1997. It was a monthly publication headquartered in Cass Lake, Minnesota, that primarily served the nearby Leech Lake Reservation.
Minnesota Indian Area Agency on Aging, Cass Lake, Minnesota, 1990-1994
Silver Notes, a publication of the Minnesota Indian Area Agency on Aging, was published in Cass Lake, Minnesota sporadically between 1990 and 1994.