Library Guides: Real News/Fake News: Real News

Journalists and their Codes of Ethics

"Real news" is written by professional journalists who adhere to ethical guidelines for gathering and writing the news. Examples of journalistic codes of ethics:

Society of Professional Journalists code of ethics, including:

seek truth and report it
minimize harm
act independently
be accountable and transparent

see link for more details

NPR Standards of Journalism, including:

accuracy
fairness
completeness
honesty
independence
impartiality
transparency
accountability
respect
excellence

see link for more details

New York Times Code of Ethics, including:

fairness
integrity
truth

and links to professional guideline documents

Finding Real News - Library Databases

Set up your browser to connect to these resources from off campus.

This is a selected list of newspaper databases available via the UCB Library; click here for a complete list.

See the Help tab to find librarians who can assist you with your research.

ABYZ News Links This link opens in a new window
Database is primarily composed of links to online newspapers, but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
A portal to online news sources from around the world. The database is primarily composed of links to online newspapers, but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies. ABYZ News Links does not contain actual news content but only links to other news sources.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexes and retrieves articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include broadcast and wire service content. Citations and abstracts provided for all files. Article content is full text, displayed in ASCII format, not page-image. (ProQuest International Newsstream). Formerly titled International Newsstand.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]

Secondary menu

Real News/Fake News: Real News

Journalists and their Codes of Ethics

Finding Real News - Library Databases