The Pacifica Radio/UC Berkeley Social Activism Recording Project: Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982

The following audio files require the Real audio player

 

Autobiography and Alice B. Toklas

Alice B. Toklas reads from "The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas" by Gertrude Stein, and recites a recipe for hashish fudge. From a Campus recording. Originally broadcast on: 1963? 19 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB1178

 

Listen to it

 

 

The Contemporary Lesbian: Beyond Stereotypes

Examination of the changing views of lesbianism. Produced by Sheri Tyler. Presented by Women's Theater of Los Angeles. Includes reenactments including a lesbian on the couch, and a live discussion with participants from the Lesbian Feminists. Includes discussion of the belief by many psychologists that homosexuality is sick and perverted and the belief that lesbians are threats. Continues with readings about women meeting each other and sharing good times. (50:00) Musical interlude. Blood Man" reading about a male seducer then more female seduction songs and readings complete the program. Includes poetry by Harriet Francis from "Sappho '71," Elsa Gidlow from "Moods of Eros", Martha Shelley, Robby, Judy Grahn and the Gay Womens Lib, a speech by Sharon Zetchis, and selections from the July 1971 issue of Every Woman." Recorded on April 25, 1974 (This date may be inaccurate). Music by Sister Rosie. Originally broadcast on: KPFK, 26 Oct. 1971 88 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BC0448

 

Listen to it

 

 

The Female Angst: Anais Nin, Joan Didion, and Dory Previn (Part 1 of 2).

Acclaimed writers Anais Nin (1903-1977) author of "The Diary of Anais Nin," Joan Didion, author of "Play It As It Lays," and Dory Previn, author of "Midnight Baby" are interviewed by Sally Davis and give interviews that shed light on their personalities. Nin states: "...never give anybody the power to decide what is right or wrong in your creativity." Didion states: "...just my sheer interest in the techniques of writing kept me going and also I needed money." Previn states: "I found the world so intolerable that my psyche cracked." Interviewed by Sally Davis. Originally broadcast on: 1 Feb. 1972. 55 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BC0611A

 

Listen to it

 

 

The Female Angst: Anais Nin, Joan Didion, and Dory Previn (Part 2 of 2).

Acclaimed writers Anais Nin (1903-1977) author of "The Diary of Anais Nin," Joan Didion, author of "Play It As It Lays," and Dory Previn, author of "Midnight Baby" are interviewed by Sally Davis and give interviews that shed light on their personalities. Nin states: "...never give anybody the power to decide what is right or wrong in your creativity." Didion states: "...just my sheer interest in the techniques of writing kept me going and also I needed money." Previn states: "I found the world so intolerable that my psyche cracked." Interviewed by Sally Davis. Originally broadcast on: 1 Feb. 1972. 43 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BC0611B

 

Listen to it

 

 

Growing up Female in the Fifties

Four women reminisce about scatter pins, sweaty hands at the hop, making out, and dear diary. Produced by Lili Francklyn. Originally broadcast on: KPFA, Mar. 1979. Pacifica Radio Archives, AZ0240

 

Listen to it

 

 

Les Guerilleres

Adaptation of Monique Whittig's surrealistic drama about feminist consciousness transformed into action. Originally broadcast on: KPFK, 1973. 57 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BC1199

 

Listen to it

 

 

Karate: Women's Liberation Demonstration

Actuality of a demonstration by women at the Berkeley Men's Gym to force their enrollment in a Karate class and summary by Denny Smithson of KPFA's public affairs department. Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 8 Jan. 1970. 31 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB2415

 

Listen to it

 

 

The Lesbian Underground: On Being a Lesbian Before the Women's Liberation Movement

Sabrina Sojourner hosts a discussion on the lesbian underground, or what it was like to be a lesbian before the feminist and gay liberation movement. Guests include Del Martin, author and Commissioner of the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, Phyllis Lyon, Commissioner for the Human Rights Commission in San Francisco, and Pat Bond, comedian. Produced by Karla Tonella. Originally broadcast on: KPFA, Dec. 1978. 60 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, AZ0294

 

Listen to it

 

 

The Lesbians

Nine lesbians discuss their lives and experiences. Interviewed by Charles Hayden. Originally broadcast on: WBAI, Dec. 10 1963. 49 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB3264

 

Listen to it

 

 

Lucretia Mott

Biographical sketch with dramatization of the life and actions of the feminist abolitionist. Produced by Virginia Maynard and Charles Levy (Episode 4 of 14). Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 3 Dec. 1959. 28 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0130.04

 

Listen to it

 

 

A New Look at abortion

Dr. William Jennings Bryan Henrie (1896-1972), a country doctor turned abortion rights activist convicted in 1962 for performing abortions speaks, calling for a more liberal view toward abortions. Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 5 May 1966. 17 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB1419

 

Listen to it

 

 

Panel Discussion on Women

Discussion of the woman's struggle for social equality. Panelists include Mark Shoerer, English literature professor at the University of California, Ethel Albert (1918-1989), anthropologist, Dr. Anna Minkin [sp?], Berkeley psychiatrist, Peter Odegard (1901-1966), professor of political science at the University of California, Miriam Allen DeFord (1888-1975), writer, and Virginia Maynard, writer and director of The American woman" series. " Produced by Virginia Maynard and Charles Levy (Episode 14 of 14). Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 11 Feb. 1960. 56 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0130.14

 

Listen to it

 

 

Revolt of the Mother

Dramatization of a woman rejecting the role imposed upon her by her husband. Produced by Virginia Maynard and Charles Levy (Episode 10 of 14). Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 12 Nov. 1959. 29 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0130.10

 

Listen to it

 

 

Revolution

On the beginnings of feminist organizing in the mid 19th century, with a dramatization of the first women's rights convention and Elizabeth Cady Stanton reading a new "Declaration of Independence for Women." Produced by Virginia Maynard and Charles Levy (Episode 5 of 14). Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 10 Dec. 1959. 28 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0130.05

 

Listen to it

 

 

Sinful Eve

On the long-standing view of woman's responsibility for man's sins. Contains a dramatization of Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter." Produced by Virginia Maynard and Charles Levy (Episode 1 of 14). Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 12 Nov. 1959. 28 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0130.01

 

Listen to it

 

 

Take Back the Night

Report of San Francisco women who marched against violence in pornography and the media. Reported by Adi Gevins. Originally broadcast on: KPFA, Nov. 1978. 9 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, AZ0392

 

Listen to it

 

 

Trial by Sex

Flo Kennedy (1916-2000) and Ti-Grace Atkinson of the National Organization for Women (NOW) are interviewed by Kay Lindsey about how the judical system discriminates against women. Originally broadcast on: WBAI, 7 Aug. 1968. 60 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB3200

 

Listen to it

 

 

Whistlin' Girls

Dramatization of the Lucy Stone legend and the problems facing women who seek to be heard at public gatherings (ca. 1834). Produced by Virginia Maynard and Charles Levy (Episode 6 of 15). Originally broadcast on: KPFA 17 Dec. 1959. 28 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0130.06

 

Listen to it

 

 

Women and the Military

This program explores the actual effect on women currently in the military and what meaning the draft has for women especially in relationship to the ERA (Equal Rights Amendment ) and the feminist position against the military. Contains actuality, interviews. Contains sensitive language. Broadcast: KPFA, 8 Apr. 1980. Produced by Carole Bennett, Laurie Garrett, Adi Gevins, and Karla Tonella. 60 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, AZ0406

 

Listen to it

 

 

Women's Expectations: Mirage or Reality? (Episode 1 of 15)

Poet Eve Merriam (1916-1992) talks about birth control, education, and the role of women in society.Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 15 Feb. 1965. 50 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0521

 

Listen to it

 

 

Women's Liberation in Mexico

Elizabeth Farnsworth of the North American Congress on Latin American interviews Marta Acevedo, organizer of the first women's action in Mexico on Mother's Day last May. This program was first broadcast on NACLA's Latin American Report in November, 1971. Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 4 Nov. 1971. 27 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BC0483

 

Listen to it

 

 

Women's Strike for Peace

Participants: Francis Herring, Patricia Trowbridge, Allan Temko, and Elain Druckman discuss their grass-roots anti-nuclear movement and the November 1, 1961 demonstration. Moderated by Elsa Knight Thompson. Originally broadcast on: KPFA, 25 Oct. 1961. 55 min. Pacifica Radio Archives, BB0292

 

Listen to it

 

ABOUT THIS PROJECT

The UC Berkeley Social Activism Sound Recording Project is a partnership between the UC Berkeley Library, the Pacifica Foundation, and other private and institutional sources. The intent of the project is to gather, catalog, and make accessible primary source media resources related to social activism and activist movements in California in the 1960's and 1970's. Some recordings have been edited for purposes of sound quality and continuity.

Sound and video files in this collection require the Real player:

 

Get it here

Copyright Information

All Pacifica Radio Archives recordings are copyright by Pacifica Radio. These materials may not be downloaded, recorded, reproduced, transcribed, or otherwise used, all or in parts, in any form or format, without express written permission from Pacifica Radio. Contact the Pacifica Radio Archives, 3729 Cahuenga Blvd. West, North Hollywood, CA 91604, (800) 735-0230, Fax (818) 506-1084; email:pacarchive@aol.com

Audio recordings and video recordings included in this site other than those from the Pacifica Radio Archives are included with the permission of the copyright holder, as public domain materials, or under the Fair Use provisions of Title 117 - US copyright law.