Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Archivportal-D - German archive portal with searchable directory provided by the German Digital Library
- Deutsche Archive im Internet – Comprehensive gateway site from the Archivschule Marburg.
- Archive in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland – Gateway to state, private, business, military, church, and specialty archives.
- Bundesarchiv Online - Government repository for documents, photos, film and recordings from 1495 to present.
- Bundesarchiv Images in Wikimedia Commons - A subset of circa 80,000 images from the Bundesarchiv and in higher resolution than on Bundesarchiv Online.
- Internetarchiv jüdischer Periodika – Digital archive of German-language Jewish periodicals published between 1806 and 1938.
- German Archives (H-Net) - Resource for finding archives in Germany.
- Nazi and East German Propaganda Archive - Maintained by Professor Bytwerk at Calvin College.
- Treaty of Westphalia - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- Communist Manifesto - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- Versailles Treaty of 1919 - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- The Munich Agreements - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- World War II documents - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- Nazi-Soviet Relations 1939-1941 - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- The Potsdam Conference - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- Nuremberg War Crimes Trial - Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- EuroDocs/History of Germany – Important Historical Documents of Germany.
- GermaNet - German lexical-semantic database.
- Das Deutschland Portal - Official online gateway to Germany.
- ZEFYS (Zeitungsinformationssystem) – Large digitalized collection of newspapers from Prussia and the German Democratic Republic.
- MIT Libraries - Link to German language news and newspapers.
- Die Tageszeitung - Daily newspaper published in Berlin.
- Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung - Daily newspaper published in Frankfurt.
- Süddeutsche Zeitung - Daily newspaper published in Munich.
- Die Zeit - Weekly newspaper published in Hamburg.
- Große Heidelberger Liederhandschrift (Codex Manesse) – Large collection of Middle High German poetry.
- Die Tagebücher von Joseph Goebbels - Database containing more than 6,000 diary entries written by Joseph Goebbels from 1923 to 1945.
- German History in Documents and Images - Collection of historical materials by period, in original and English translation, from the German Historical Institute
Germanic Library Catalogues
Older German Typeface and Handwriting
Other Online Resources
- Germanistik im Netz – Portal for Germanistik. Includes links to information on research methods and digital tools, a digital repository, a directory of scholarly institutions, and more.