Library Guides: Mathematics: Books + eBooks

Find books

Catalogs

UC Library Search (UC Berkeley and all UC campuses)
UC Library Search is the catalog for all ten UC campus libraries, including UC Berkeley, NRLF and SRLF. Log in to UC Library Search to see your library account, make requests, renew books, or initiate an interlibrary loan.

WorldCat (libraries worldwide)
Worldcat is a library catalog for materials owned by libraries worldwide. UC Berkeley faculty, staff, and students may request materials not owned by UC Berkeley.

eBooks

UC Library Search: Find ebooks in UC Library Search by using the Refine your results options to limit to Available online.

We also purchase ebook collections from publishers. Key collections in science and engineering include:

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text engineering reference and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and data tables.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by MIT Press.
Covers a broad range of subjects including arts, architecture, biomedical sciences, business, cognitive science, cultural studies, design, digital humanities and new media, economics, education, energy, engineering, environmental science, evolution, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, machine learning and AI, neuroscience, and social sciences.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 40,000 ebooks, computer manuals, videos, case studies, and learning paths from O'Reilly and other technical book publishers
Note: Berkeley users may access this resource by selecting our institution "University of California, Berkeley" and logging in with CalNet. Members of the public (walk-in users) should ask the Reference Desk; a staff member will need to sign in for them. (Note to staff: instructions are on the Password Protected Resources page on the Staff Web)
Includes content from O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, HarperCollins, Manning, New Riders, Pearson, Prentice Hall, and other technical and business publishers. Includes over 30,000 hours of instructional video content.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Collection of interdisciplinary ebooks covering the sciences, social science, and the humanities.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of academic ebooks from Elsevier with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks from Springer covering every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes CHEMnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, and more.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks from Wiley covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.

Or, browse all available ebook collections in all subject areas at UC Berkeley.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations Online

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes graduate dissertations from North American and selected European graduate schools and universities. Dissertations by UC authors are available in full text from 1997.
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).

UC Berkeley Dissertations

For online access to dissertations published since 1997, see Proquest link above. To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search UC Library Search for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.

Example: berkeley dissertations molecular and cell biology

More Book Resources in Mathematics & Statistics

Book Reviews

MAA Reviews provides books reviews and recommendations for all areas of mathematics.
Journals such as The American Mathematical Monthly, The American Statistician, Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, Journal of the American Statistical Association, Mathematics Magazine, Notices of the American Mathematical Society, and SIAM Review also publish book reviews.

Digitized Historical Collections

Mathematicians and mathematics librarians were among the early proponents for digitizing historical literature so a number of freely-available digitized collections exist:

HathiTrust is a collection of millions of digitized titles in all subjects with full-text available for public domain works.
LiNuM (Livres Numériques Mathématiques) provides access to a number of digitized mathematics collections.
Czech Digital Mathematics Library provides access to Czech journals and books.
Math-Net.Ru is a collection of Russian mathematics journals.
NUMDAM is a collection of French mathematics journals.
Project Euclid is a subscription database but provides free access to some journal backfiles, conferences, and books. Includes the Berkeley Symposium on Mathematical Statistics and Probability.

Secondary menu

Mathematics: Books + eBooks

Find books

eBooks

Dissertations and Theses

More Book Resources in Mathematics & Statistics