Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Japanese American Internment - Research Guide

Finding Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  From the Library home page, select "Databases" and then click on "Browse All Databases." On the next screen, use the drop down menu for All Subjects to find your discipline.

UC Library Search box on library homepage

Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.

Sample Searches - Article Databases

Library home:  Databases > Browse Databases > (pull down "all subjects" menu to History > America:  History and Life)

Sample searches in America: History and Life (article database - secondary sources):

japanese (select a field - optional)
internment (selecct a field - optional)
student* (select a field - optional)

historical period:  1940 to 1945

click on title of an item to see long version of record including abstract

dorothea lange (select a field - optional)
ansel adams (select a field - optional)
internment (select a field - optional)

Search Results

  • click on the title to see full record (including abstracts and descriptors)
  • to limit by publication type (peer-reviewed journals, conferences, books, etc.) click on the appropriate tab or link
  • if necessary,look for other limits (latest update, journal articles only, english only) and more advanced searches
  • select records to save to your personalized list; lists may be e-mailed, downloaded, printed

Finding the Article: use UC elinks

Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use Get it at UC Get it at UC icon to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:

  • When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)