Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.

Central Asia: The Silk Road

This guide will introduce its users to several library resources that are dedicated to region known as Central Asia.

Introduction

The Silk Road as a term since its coining by Ferdinand von Richthofen in 1877 (Richthofen, Ferdinand von (1877). "Über die zentralasiatischen Seidenstrassen bis zum 2. Jh. n. Chr" [On the Central Asian Silk Roads until the 2nd century A.D.]. Verhandlungen der Gesellschaft für Erdkunde zu Berlin (in German). 4: 96–122.) has continued to captivate not only the imagination but also fueled much discussion about its historicity, politics and ethnography. At UC Berkeley, the P.Y. and Kinmay W. Tang Center for Silk Road Studies (TCSRS) serves a facilitator and research incubator on the Silk Road and the Central Asia. 

Additional Resources on Silk Road


 

One Belt--One Road (Radio Free Asia)- Partially funded by US Government!

Documentary Heritage of Silk Roads by UNESCO

TitleSort descending Country
A Collection of selected maps of Iran in the Qajar Era (1193-1344 Lunar Calendar / 1779-1926 Gregorian Calendar) Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Administrative Documents of Astan-e Quds Razavi in the Safavid Era Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Al-Tafhim li Awa'il Sana'at al-Tanjim Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Ancient Naxi Dongba Literature Manuscripts China
Archives of the Dutch East India Company IndiaIndonesiaSri Lanka
Baegun hwasang chorok buljo jikji simche yojeol (vol.II), the second volume of "Anthology of Great Buddhist Priests' Zen Teachings" Republic of Korea
Batu Bersurat Terengganu (Inscribed Stone of Terengganu) Malaysia
Ben Cao Gang Mu (《本草纲目》 Compendium of Materia Medica) China
Collection of Nezami’s Panj Ganj Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Collection of the manuscripts of Khoja Ahmed Yasawi Kazakhstan
Commemorative stela of Nahr el-Kalb, Mount Lebanon Lebanon
Correspondence of the late Sultan of Kedah (1882-1943) Malaysia
Deeds of Sultans and Princes Egypt
Dhakhīra-yi Khārazmshāhī Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Donguibogam: Principles and Practice of Eastern Medicine Republic of Korea
Epigraphic Archives of Wat Pho Thailand
Evliya Çelebi's "Book of Travels" in the Topkapi Palace Museum Library and the Süleymaniye Manuscript Library Turkey
Georgian Byzantine Manuscripts Georgia
Golden Lists of the Qing Dynasty Imperial Examination China
Hikayat Hang Tuah Malaysia

 

TitleSort descending Country
Holy Koran Mushaf of Othman Uzbekistan
Huang Di Nei Jing 《黄帝内经》 (Yellow Emperor’s Inner Canon) China
Hunminjeongum Manuscript Republic of Korea
Ilseongnok: Records of Daily Reflections Republic of Korea
José Maceda Collection Philippines
Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute Manuscripts Turkey
Kanjur written with 9 precious stones Mongolia
La Galigo Indonesia
laghukālacakratantrarājatikā (Vimalaprabhā) India
Lu.“Altan Tobchi” : Golden History written in 1651 Mongolia
Lucca's Historical Diocesan Archives (ASDLU): Early Middle Ages Italy
Manuscript Collection of Shota Rustaveli's Poem "Knight in the Panther's Skin" Georgia
Maps of the Russian Empire and its collection of the 18th century Russian Federation
Mashtots Matenadaran ancient manuscripts collection Armenia
Materials Related to the Keicho-era Mission to Europe Japan and Spain Japan
Medieval manuscripts on medicine and pharmacy Azerbaijan
Memory of the Suez Canal Egypt
Midokanpakuki: the original handwritten diary of Fujiwara no Michinaga Japan
Mongolian Tanjur Mongolia
Nāgarakrĕtāgama or Description of the Country (1365 AD) Indonesia

News from Silk Road

Loading ...

Silk Road Related Academic Seminars and Documentaries

For Educational Use Only. The copyright belongs to the individual entities that produced this footage.

Panel 1: Tang Center for Silk Road Studies Annual Conference - 2019 UC Berkeley.

East Iran in Antiquity: Silk Road and Central Asia outside the Paradigm of Eurasian Trade.

The Silk Road and the Iranian Political Economy in Late Antiquity

The Silk Road in Late Antiquity by Peter Brown

Sogdian Traders and Others Along the Silk Roads with Judith Lerner.

The Silk Road: A New History

CNN | The Silk Road Story