Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Index of of works related to English language and literature. [1920 - present]
Indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations related to English language and literature.
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Citations to essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. It covers 8 decades (1900-1984) of essays, annuals and serial publications from the 20th Century. [1900-1984]
Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). [1883 - present]
Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).
Index of international publications and media related to Shakespeare and his works. [1972 - present]
Indexes books, scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, audiovisual and electronic resources, and professional theatre and film productions worldwide offering research related to Shakespeare, his works, and productions of his work. International in scope with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia.
Scholarly Article Databases
JSTOR
Full text of thousands of scholarly journals. JSTOR is an archive, which means that current issues (generally the most recent 1-10 years) of the journals are not available.
Project MUSE
Over 500 newer scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Humanities International Complete
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text for many journals. Useful for research across disciplines.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Covers more than 500 leading American magazines and journals from 1890 to 1982. Most useful for articles, interviews, book reviews.
IBZ - Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur
Indexes over 5600 journals worldwide, specializing in the humanities and the social sciences. [Thanks to the Library's participation in a joint German/American document delivery project called GBV, the Library can obtain copies of IBR articles from German partners in digital form quickly at no additional cost to users via Interlibrary Borrowing Services.]
Year's Work in English Studies
Annual evaluative survey of scholarship on English, American, and some other literatures written in English.
Chaucer Bibliography Online
An online annotated bibliography of material published annually in Studies in the Age of Chaucer.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Comprehensive coverage of nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. C19 Index draws on the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective
Indexes essays found in over 5,300 volumes, annuals and serial publications from the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with coverage of economics, political science, history, and literary and film criticism. change: All WilsonWeb databases have switched to the EBSCOhost interface.
Black Studies Center (BSC)
Includes The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full text backfile of The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA)
Indexes over 270 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, biographical profiles, conference papers, interviews, discographies, reviews and other materials.
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, going as far back as 1665. Some journals are full-text. Especially useful for early 20th century journals. Formerly Periodicals Contents Index.
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.
