Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.

ENGLISH 200: Reception

Resources for Research

Reception History

C19: the Nineteenth Century Index (UCB only)   Includes several indexes including Poole’s, the first index to periodicals. 

British Fiction 1800-1829: A Database of Production, Circulation & Reception Cardiff University's Centre for Editorial and Intertextual Research produced this listing of nearly 2300 works by around 900 authors. Entries include information about format, editions, advertisements, reviews and may be searched or browsed. Quite useful for anyone doing work in this period.

Readers’ Guide to Retrospective (UCB only)  Indexes over 500 US journals published between 1892-1982  

Periodicals Index Online  (UCB only)  Indexes millions of articles published 1665-1995  in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995.

Literature Criticism Online  (UCB only)  Excerpts of criticism and of book reviews from earliest responses to contemporary scholarship on the author's work.  Gale was not able to get copyright clearance to reproduce all the articles online that are contained in the printed volumes, so you may have to consult the print:  Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 Doe Ref PN86.L53; Shakespearean Criticism Doe Ref PR2965.S43; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism Doe Ref PN761.N5; Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism Doe Ref PN2.T82; Contemporary Literary Criticism Doe Ref PN80.C6.

Literature Research Center (UCB only) and Gale sets, including: Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 Doe Ref PN86.L53; Shakespearean Criticism Doe Ref PR2965.S43; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism Doe Ref PN761.N5; Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism Doe Ref PN2.T82; Contemporary Literary Criticism Doe Ref PN80.C6

Book Review Digest Plus (UCB only) 1983-

Book Review Digest Retrospective (UCB only) 1905-1982

Book Review Index (UCB only) 1965-present

New York Review of Books1963-

New York Times Book Review 1997-     Can register to read some articles each month without charge.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974.  Doe Reference Z1035.Al.C62 1982  Periodical Indexes

Consider searching such resources as newspapers and collections of periodicals as:

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1600-1800)

19th Century British Newspapers

19th Century U. S. Newspapers

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  Free access to information about historical newspapers published in the US since 1690 and digitized pages from selected newspapers dating from 1836 to 1922.

Archive of Americana  1639-1899

Access World News  Dates of coverage vary by newspaper but usually does not begin until the mid-1980s or later.  Notable for inclusion of many California papers.

British Periodicals (Collection I) 160 British periodicals published during the 18th-early 20th Centuries.

Factiva  News coverage from over 9000 sources in 22 languages.

LexisNexis Academic  Large database of newspapers, mostly late 20th Century on.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900

Athenaeum Index of Reviews and Reviewers: 1830-1870.