Library Guides: Data 4AC: Data and Justice: Databases

Information and Data Science Resources

All Information and Data Science Library Guides
See all UC Berkeley Library Guides related to Information and Data Science.
BYU Corpus Data
UC Berkeley has licensed access to the full-text corpus data for the following BYU English language collections
Data Visualization
Data visualization is the presentation of data in a pictorial or graphical format. A well-designed figure can have a huge impact on the communication of research results. Data visualizations can include word clouds, bar charts, maps, or even simple tables.
Getting Started with the U.S. Census
Library guide by librarian Jesse Silva on using the United States census.
Health Statistics & Data: National & Int'l Statistics
A library guide to health-related data and statistics.
Text Mining & Computational Text Analysis Library Guide
Library guide on text mining and computational text analysis including links to data repositories, software & tools, and more.
U.S. Data and Statistical Sources: Introduction
Provides access to federal statistics on various subjects and topic areas. Created by librarian Jesse Silva.

Academic Journal Databases

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH)
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Index of interdisciplinary global publications covering research in the history of science, medicine and technology. (HistSciTechMed) [1976 - present]
Indexes books, journals, proceedings, and dissertations worldwide about research in the history of science, medicine, technology, and related fields. Subjects covered include agriculture, biology, construction, chemistry, energy, engineering, geology, linguistics, mathematics, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, social sciences, town planning, transport engineering, and zoology.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Primary Source Databases

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
Includes newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, personal correspondence and more related to LGBTQ communities around the world. Topics include the gay rights, lesbian activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more (Formerly titled Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity) [1940-present].
Calisphere
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
Independent Voices
Over 1000 alternative press titles focusing on the 60s, 70s and 80s. Includes publications by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more. [1960 - 2000]
Online Archive of California (OAC)
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.

Secondary menu

Data 4AC: Data and Justice: Databases

Databases

Databases

Information and Data Science Resources

Academic Journal Databases

Primary Source Databases