Skip to Main Content

Data 4AC: Data and Justice: Reference & Getting Started

DATA 4AC engages students with fundamental questions of justice in relation to data and computing in American society.

Getting Started

Reference and Getting Started

Get started on your research by familiarizing yourself with using the libraries, setting up your computer for off-campus access to library resources, using the UC Library Search portal, consulting reference encyclopedias and more.

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as UC Library Search, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

About UC Library Search

About UC Library Search

Venn diagram about what UC Library Search includes

Access UC Library Search directly or from the Library homepage to find most (what isn't included?) books, articles, media, archival collections, and more from: 

  • UC Berkeley
  • Other UC Libraries
  • WorldCat (select Advanced Search, then WorldCat)

Sign in to view all results and to manage your:

  • Saved records and searches.
  • Requested and borrowed items.
  • Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

 

Off campus? Use the proxy or the VPN for full access. (You may be prompted to sign in again.)

Reference Encyclopedias

Reference encyclopedias provide background information on a broad range of topics. Written by experts and scholars, encyclopedia entries are typically a few pages and contain a short list of additional resources at the end. Encyclopedias are usually many volumes and entries are organized alphabetically. There are many print encyclopedias in the UC Berkeley Library that can be found on UC Library Search. To start, try using Credo Reference, an online database of reference encyclopedias.