Library Guides: Financial and Operating Ratios: Home

About Ratios

Business Ratios and Formulas: a comprehensive guide by Steven M. Bragg
Call Number: HF5691 .B73 2012 Main (Gardner)
ISBN: 9781118226834
Publication Date: 2012-02-23
A complete appraisal of analytical tools available to managers to assess performance Required reading for anyone starting, running, or growing a business, Business Ratios and Formulas, Third Edition puts answers at the fingertips of business managers, with nearly 250 operational criteria and clear, easy-to-understand explanations that can be used right away. The Third Edition includes twenty new measurements. Approximately 20 new measurements Offers a comprehensive resource of nearly 250 operational criteria An Appendix including a dictionary of accounting and finance terms A thorough list of every ratio and formula, and how to compile and interpret that information Also by Steven M. Bragg: Fast Close: A Guide to Closing the Books Quickly, Second Edition An ideal tool for measuring corporate performance, this authoritative resource allows you to pick and choose the tools you need to best assess your organization's performance.

Search the library catalog for subject “Ratio analysis” to find books about how to use ratios.

Industry Ratios

RMA Annual Statement Studies
Composite data from financial statements of companies of different sizes in manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, agricultural, and contracting. Organized by NAICS codes.
Business Library Reference HG1507 .R65.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Ratios
Data extracted from U.S. IRS tax forms, C and S. IRS data are the only publicly available source of financial information on all active companies. Organized by NAICS code.
Business Library Reference HF5681 .R25T68

Bizstats.com provides some free statistics and financial ratios for industries and also has financial ratio calculators that let you input your own data for some ratio calculations. Raw statistical data from many public sources is used to compute some meaningful statistics.

Company Ratios

All databases with company financials will have Ratio analysis as well. The following databases provide an analysis of company financials.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Ratio Comparison Reports show key financial ratios for a company compared against industry, sector and S&P 500 Index aggregate ratios. Select Company from Companies/Markets tab at the top of the homepage, search for a company, then click Reports on the left-hand side of the page and select Ratio Comparison Report.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Under Company Financials tab, find Ratios for all years available. Historical ratios available. Profitability (ROA, ROE, ROI, EBIDTA, etc.), quick/current, debt, various asset management and per share ratios.
Provides financial information on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Industry surveys have various calculated profit (return on revenue, return on assets, return on equity), equity (price/equity, dividend payout ratio and dividend yield) and balance sheet ratios (current, debt/capital and debt as a % of net working capital) for companies in the industry.
Provides proprietary reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts. Regularly updated publications include S and P's Industry Surveys, The Outlook, Credit Week, and directories of private companies, executives, and security dealers.

Subject Guide

Hilary Schiraldi

Email Me

Contact:

Business Library
S350 Haas School of Business

Secondary menu

Financial and Operating Ratios: Home

Ratios

About Ratios

Industry Ratios

Company Ratios

Subject Guide