Books, eBooks, Reports - GEOG 130 - Food & the Environment

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. Use it to find books, articles, media, archival collections, and more across most UCB libraries (notable exception: Berkeley Law Library), as well as the collections of other UC libraries.

You can:

Narrow your search results using filters (ex: peer review status, date, and format).
Use Request to page items, place a hold, or request an interlibrary loan (must be logged in).
Save and export records to email or citation management software, or save searches.
View and manage (must be logged in) your:
Saved records, saved searches, and search history.
Requested, borrowed, and Interlibrary Loan items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

See the UC Library Search user guide.

Statement from the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library about harmful, offensive, or discredited Library materials.

Selected Sources

Food Environment Atlas (USDA)
Maps food environment factors—such as store/restaurant proximity, food prices, food and nutrition assistance programs, and community characteristics

Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems This link opens in a new window
Addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face.
The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work.
Encyclopedia of Food Security and Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary articles investigating sustainable food production in relation to the effects of global change on food resources, biodiversity, and global food security. Includes sections on nutrition, diet, food systems, agriculture, and more.
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 4/30/24 due to library budget cuts.
"Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more."
"Content reflects the interdisciplinary nature, and resources for studying food, in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Includes: Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food and chapters from Food History: Critical and Primary Source. Image collections including the Culinary Arts Museum, USA and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA."
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Primary archival materials, visual ephemera, text, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Content includes food labels, advertisements, documentary films, pamphlets, recipes, menus, books, photographs, and more.
Comprehensive Foodomics This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 150 articles relating to food quality and safety and their links to human health and nutrition.
Topics include: transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, genomics, green foodomics, epigenetics and noncoding RNA, food safety, food bioactivity and health, food quality and traceability, data treatment and systems biology.

Find Reports and Information from Government, IGOs, NGOs, and Think Tanks

Government Information

Other librarians at UCB have created these helpful Guides to Finding Government Information.

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of IGO websites

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of NGO sites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from curated lists.

Search Think Tanks and Research Centers

Link to a Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.

California and U.S. Government Reports and Documents

California Department of Agriculture Publications & Reports
National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
Offers full-text digital materials, primarily USDA research and historical publications.

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for technical reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies.
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). The NTIS archives reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and others.

Secondary menu

GEOG 130 - Food & the Environment: Books, eBooks, Reports

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

Selected Sources

Find Reports and Information from Government, IGOs, NGOs, and Think Tanks

California and U.S. Government Reports and Documents