Library Guides: Healthcare Industry Information: Home

Industry/Market Research

IBISWorld Industry Market Research
Research and profiles for industries involved in all aspects of healthcare. Detailed analysis of each industry, key growth trends, competitive environment, key issues facing each industry, cost structure and benchmarks. Links to upstream and downstread industry reports. Search for specific terms such as health, healthcare, dentist, doctors, physicians, insurance, hospitals, clinics, medical devices, supplies, etc.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
Frost and Sullivan
Market research of emerging technologies and scientific breakthroughs in healthcare related industries. US and global. reports on health care and life sciences, drug discovery and clinical diagnostics, medical devices, medical imaging, patient monitoring, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology. Especially good for information technology applications in health care.
Industries include: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Systems; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control
Statista
Great source for finding compilations of statistics and reports on healthcare, US and global. Quantitative data and reports on industries. Data from market research reports, trade publications, science journals, government sources.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Mintel Reports
Consumer focused reports analyze the market, the consumer, brands and companies. In the Health and Nutrition category, Find reports on Medicare, Marketing Health, Healthy Lifestyles, Heart Health, Sleep Aids, Digestive Health, Exercise, and other consumer focused health topics.
Provides the fulltext of market research reports in these product categories: beauty, personal goods and toiletries; clothing, footwear and accessories; drink and tobacco; electrical goods; food and foodservice; health and wellbeing; holidays and travel; house and home; leisure time, lifestages; media, books, and stationery, personal finance; retail; and technology/telecoms. Reports cover specific product/country markets and discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Geographic emphasis is on the U.S. and Europe.
Capital IQ
Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty and staff.
Investment research and commentary from Standard & Poor's on life sciences and healthcare industries.
Replaces UC Berkeley's NetAdvantage subscription. If this link takes you to NetAdvantage instead of a login page for S&P, try restarting your browser, clearing your cache, or opening in an incognito browser.
FitchConnect
Pharmaceutical and healthcare industry quarterly reports by country..
Note: This resource requires you to login with your CalNet.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.

News/Articles

Factiva
The best business news source - breaking news for industries, technologies, companies. The Industry tab on the Search page allows you to restrict your information search by industry. Healthcare Provision and Healthcare Support Services are two major subject groupings that searches can be restricted to.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Business Source Complete
Industry trade journals, scholarly and business magazine articles. Good for public health and healthcare economics literature.
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.

Data

Health Workforce Research
Health workforce reports.from federal Health Resources and Services Administration
American Hospital Directory from the American Hospital Association
Hospital profiles are available without a subscription.
Compare Hospitals
From Medicare, a tool for consumers to compare hospitals on various metrics.
Best US Hospitals
Rankings by specialty from US News. For consumers.

HCUP (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project) - Data for hospital, emergency, ambulatory, by condition and other healthcare costs and payers.
MEPS (Medical Expenditure Panel Survey) Expenditures: expenditures by health care service (Medicaid, Medicare, private insurance), insurance expenditures, medical condition expenditures, per health incident cost, expenditures by length of hospital stay, expenditures for top prescribed drugs and drug classes.
See guide to Health Statistics for data/statistics that are available on more granular levels by geography and disease conditions.

Business Library

Questions? Ask a business librarian! We are happy to recommend sources, walk you through Berkeley's many databases, and help you refine your search terms.

Use the email form to reach our whole team of business librarians. For in-person or remote consultations, please make an reference appointment.

Secondary menu

Healthcare Industry Information: Home

About this Guide

Industry/Market Research

News/Articles

Data

Business Library