Library Guides: Information Studies: MIDS & MICS

Off-campus access

Connect from off campus: Students, faculty and staff with CalNet IDs can access online Library resources from off-campus using the library proxy or the VPN.

Cybersecurity: Key Resources

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. [1954 - present]
Provides full-text access to journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings and newsletters published by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery). Includes most historical and all current publications.

Cyber Operations Tracker
A database of the publicly known state-sponsored incidents that have occurred since 2005. From the Council on Foreign Relations' Digital and Cyberspace Policy program.

EnergyWire This link opens in a new window
Energywire covers utilities including the switch to natural gas, the growth of distributed energy, threats to cybersecurity and technology. Provides insight into shale oil and gas development, pipelines, and liquefied natural gas due to markets, regulations and environmental concerns.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Journal and magazine articles, conference papers, and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). [1872 - present]
Indexes IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. It also includes IEE publications for the same time period (IEE is the
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.

Data Science: Key Resources

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. [1954 - present]
Provides full-text access to journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings and newsletters published by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery). Includes most historical and all current publications.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Journal and magazine articles, conference papers, and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). [1872 - present]
Indexes IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. It also includes IEE publications for the same time period (IEE is the
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 40,000 ebooks, computer manuals, videos, case studies, and learning paths from O'Reilly and other technical book publishers
Note: Berkeley users may access this resource by selecting our institution "University of California, Berkeley" and logging in with CalNet. Members of the public (walk-in users) should ask the Reference Desk; a staff member will need to sign in for them. (Note to staff: instructions are on the Password Protected Resources page on the Staff Web)
Includes content from O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, HarperCollins, Manning, New Riders, Pearson, Prentice Hall, and other technical and business publishers. Includes over 30,000 hours of instructional video content.
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases provides unlimited access to more than 3,650 cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Includes the Berkeley-Haas Case Series, Yale School of Management, and other case study providers in addition to SAGE originals.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 800 books, reference works, and journal articles from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.
SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.

Secondary menu

Information Studies

Off-campus access

Cybersecurity: Key Resources

Data Science: Key Resources