Library Guides: Information Studies: Data & Statistics

Data services at UC Berkeley

D-Lab
Supports Berkeley faculty, staff, and graduate students with research in data intensive social science.
Dryad
An open-source, research data curation and publication platform. Berkeley is a partner and offers Dryad as a free service for all Berkeley researchers to publish and archive their data. Datasets published in Dryad receive a citation and can be versioned at any time. Dryad is integrated with hundreds of journals and is an easy way to both publish data and comply with funder and publisher mandates.
Geospatial Innovation Facility (GIF)
Provides leadership and training across a broad array of integrated mapping technologies on campus.
Library GIS Services
Geographic information system (GIS) software and data support. GIS datasets for areas around the world, with an emphasis on the San Francisco Bay Area and northern California.
Research Data Management
A UC Berkeley guide and consulting service for research data management issues.
Statistics Department Consulting Services
A service in which advanced graduate students, under faculty supervision, are available to consult during specified hours in the Fall and Spring semesters.
UCDATA
Provide access to a broad range of computerized social science data to faculty, staff, and students at UC Berkeley.

Statistics data and datasets

Awesome Public Datasets
A list of high-quality open datasets (HQOD) in the public domain, maintained on GitHub.
Statistical databases at UCB
A list of open-access and Library-licensed statistical datasets and data tools.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
325 institutions working together to acquire and preserve social science data. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Non-governmental and nonpartisan research organization. Datasets associated with NBER research are available for download from their website.
Provides access to NBER research results through the working paper series.The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields. NBER Data and Data links provide access to government economic information such as business cycle data.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
Public opinion survey data primarily from U.S. sources, but also includes select data from over 50 different countries. 1930 to present.
Contains domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

UCDATA
Provide access to a broad range of computerized social science data to faculty, staff, and students at UC Berkeley.
Wharton Research Data Service
Comprehensive source of financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking, and insurance data. Note: WRDS use is generally restricted to faculty and graduate students in Berkeley's Business and Economics departments.
more...less...
Exceptions can be made for those with legitimate academic need outside those departments. Click on the link, choose "Register," and if you qualify, a password will be sent by email.
Yahoo Webscope Program
A reference library of datasets from Yahoo platforms that are available for non-commercial use by academics. Includes datasets for language, graph/social, ratings/classification, advertising/marketing, competition, computing systems and image research.

Research Data Management

See researchdata.berkeley.edu for more information.

Secondary menu

Information Studies: Data & Statistics

Data services at UC Berkeley

Statistics data and datasets

Research Data Management