Joint Medical Program Library Resources: Just for Fun

Want free art to hang in your home or office? Check out the Graphic Arts Loan Program. You can reserve a print online, but you must pick it up and return it in person. Includes works by Hiroshige Ando; Claudia Bernardi; Marc Chagall; Shiro Ikegawa; Yolanda M. Lopez; Roberto Matta; Gino Scarpa; and many more.

Tired of watching Star Trek reruns? The Library subscribes to Kanopy Streaming - an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more!
Another video service to check out is Docuseek2, featuring social issue and documentary films from several independent distributors.
Academic Video Online has almost 70,000 videos in most subject areas and also includes archival newsreels, animation, performances, and more.

And for your ears, the library provides you with several music databases, such as:
Database of Recorded American Music: Audio files of compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States. Complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives, and...
Naxos Music Library: A collection of (mostly) Western classical music including classical music, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music - perhaps a cello version of Bowie's Ziggy Stardust suits your fancy. Includes notes and biographical information on composers and artists.

You also have access to UC Berkeley OverDrive: access to digital audiobooks and popular ebooks.

For your reading pleasure, the Library offers an enormous fiction collection, as well as many popular magazines such as Consumer Reports and Rolling Stone. We also have thousands of cookbooks of every cuisine.

You may also wish to explore your past using the UCB subscription to Ancestry Library (from ancestry.com): thousands of images, records, documents, etc. from 1790 to 1940.

Not part of the Library, but students can visit the UCB Jacobs Makerspace and learn vinyl cutting, 3-D printing, and much more.