It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this guide is to acquaint our undergraduate students with Latinx Studies materials in the Doe Library of UC Berkeley. In addition to Doe Library, our Ethnic Studies library also serves as a repository for Latinx/Chicanx/Hispanic American St
In the United States, peoples of Caribbean, Latin American origin do not represent a homogenous monolith. The questions regarding social issues and the identity politics around any ethnic group in the United States are complicated. Please note that even the US Census has notoriously struggled to use holistic classification for most ethnic groupings and the Latinx communities are not an exception. The use of a single term can never capture the whole spectrum of the diversity of experiences of these communities. For this guide, Latinx Studies is used to denote a sort of an umbrella term that will allow students to explore other words like "Chicanx," "Latino/a," "Hispanic," and "Hispanic-Americans." Please note that one cannot take all these words out of the context and situations in which they are deployed for this specific guide.
Online Archive of California (OAC)This link opens in a new windowAccess to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
CalisphereThis link opens in a new windowDigitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
Aztlán (Online)Aztlán presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces in the dosier section, an artist's communiqué, a review section, and a commentary by the editor, Charlene Villaseñor Black.
Bilingual review (New York, N.Y.)Publishing since 1974, the Review continues to feature quality articles in the areas of bilingualism, bilingual education, and ethnic scholarship, as well as the best creative literature by established and emerging Hispanic writers. You will also find book reviews, publication notices, and a section of professional announcements of upcoming events
Chicana / Latina StudiesChicana/Latina Studies: The Journal of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social is the interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, flagship twice-yearly publication of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social (MALCS).
ChiricúChiricú Journal (ISSN 0277-7223, e-ISSN 2472-4521) is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal published twice per year (fall and spring) by the Indiana University Press in conjunction with the Latino Studies Program of IU.
Southwestern American LiteratureSouthwestern American Literature is a biannual scholarly journal that includes literary criticism, fiction, poetry, and book reviews concerning the Greater Southwest.
Journal of Latino/Latin American StudiesThe Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies (JOLLAS) is an interdisciplinary, international, and peer reviewed on-line journal housed at the University of Nebraska at Omaha
Chicano DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIndex of publications on Mexican-American topics and Latino cultures since 1967. [1967 - present]
Also includes materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. Coverage includes art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
DigitaliaThis link opens in a new windowCollection of Spanish and Catalan e-books published in Latin America and Spain. (Digitalia Hispanica)
Digitalia e-books can be read as PDFs, HTML, or Flash files. To date, the UCB Library has purchased more than 2100+ titles which are all discoverable in UC Library Search.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH)This link opens in a new windowIndex of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Titles include: the History of Dispute series, Encyclopedia of Modern China, Encyclopedia of Religion, the Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography and many more resources. (Formerly titled Gale Virtual Reference Library)
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)This link opens in a new windowCitations to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. [1970 - present]
Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980This link opens in a new windowThis collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. [1808-1980]
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Latino LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowPlays, prose and poetry by Latin writers. (1850 - present)
Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Literature Resources from GaleThis link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals as well as critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies on authors, their works, and literary movements.
Search across several Gale literature resources including LitFinder, Literature Resource Center (LRC), Scribner Writer Series and Twayne's Author Series.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowSeveral hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
ProQuest Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowEbook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in UC Library Search.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.
Americas Society/ Council of the AmericasAmericas Society (AS)
is the premier forum dedicated to education, debate, and dialogue in the Americas. Its mission is to foster an understanding of the contemporary political, social, and economic issues confronting Latin America, the Caribbean, and Canada, and to increase public awareness and appreciation of the diverse cultural heritage of the Americas and the importance of the inter-American relationship.
Immigration Research LibraryThe Immigration Research Library is a free, online collection of contemporary, U.S. immigration reports, briefs, fact sheets, infographics, news and events. The Library hosts (with links to original sources) more than 1,500 U.S. immigration research reports with simple, straightforward abstracts drawn from respected universities and research institutes from across the country. This free Library is for anyone interested in U.S. immigration issues including students, researchers, journalists, educators, advocates, policymakers, direct-service providers, etc.
LatinodecisionsLatino political opinion research was done by credentialed research scientists with established publication records, rigorous methodological training, and experience with large-scale collaborative research projects.
Migration Policy InstituteMission: The nonpartisan Migration Policy Institute seeks to improve immigration and integration policies through authoritative research and analysis, opportunities for learning and dialogue, and the development of new ideas to address complex policy questions.
Pew Research: Hispanic/Latino TrendsPew Research is a nonpartisan American think tank based in Washington, D.C. It provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.
Washington Policy: Latin AmericaLeading research and advocacy organization advancing human rights in the Americas. Much of their work is focused on Latin American immigration to the United States.