Maps & Air Photos: Grants & Fellowships

The AGS Library fellowship program was created to give scholars from around the world an opportunity to pursue their work in proximity to a distinguished collection of primary sources. Approximately 4-8 fellowships are awarded each year for periods of time usually ranging from two to four weeks. Fellowships are available for any qualified researcher, the main criteria for appointment being the merit and significance of the candidate’s proposal, the qualifications of the candidate, and the relevance of the project to the holdings of the Library and the potential shown by the candidate for creative utilization of the Library’s resources. Applications are generally due annually in mid-December.

The Leibniz Institute for East and Southeast European Studies (IOS) encourages applications from historians, geographers, cartographers and scholars of cognate disciplines, who focus on Eastern or Southeastern Europe. The duration of the research stay is up to four weeks. As part of a mutual agreement with the institute, the fellow is expected to contribute to the development of GeoPortOst by testing and exploiting it. GeoPortOst is the IOS gateway for historical maps, printed in books and published for the first time digitally in GIS format. The allowance is determined by the length of stay and the applicant's professional experience. Applications generally due in September. A detailed description (for the 2020 fellowship) year can be found here: https://www.ios-regensburg.de/fileadmin/doc/ausschreibungen/2020/Augustin_Hirschvogel_Fellowship_IOS_2020.pdf

The Bodleian Libraries award short-term Visiting Fellowships to scholars who will benefit from an uninterrupted period of research in the Special Collections of the Libraries. Fellows are expected to be in residence in Oxford throughout their fellowship period and to participate in, and make a contribution to, the intellectual life of the Libraries and the University. Applications generally due beginning of December (collaborative fellowships awarded jointly with learned societies may have different deadlines). The fellowship year begins on 1 August and ends on 31 July, although fellowship lengths vary.

This fellowship of $3,000 from the Bibliographical Society of America supports projects dealing with all aspects of the history, presentation, printing, design, distribution and reception of cartographical documents from Renaissance times to the present, with a special emphasis on eighteenth-century cartography. Funded by the Pine Tree Foundation of New York. Applications generally due at the beginning of November.

ISHMap awards prizes in alternating years for the best papers delivered at the ISHMap Symposium and for projects in map history that advance the field beyond the boundaries of academic publication.

The Kenneth Karmiole Endowed Research Fellowship program enables visiting scholars and graduate students to pursue research lasting from one to three months in UCSB Library’s Special Research Collections. One annual fellowship will be awarded in the amount of $5,000 to allow a scholar to pursue research in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, visual and performing arts, and/or UCSB history. Collections available for fellowship-supported research include rare books, journals, manuscripts, archives, printed ephemera, photographs and other audiovisual materials, maps, recordings, and other items.

The National Library of Australia, in partnership with its generous sponsors and donors, offers researchers an opportunity to undertake a three month residency at the Library. Applicants may work in any field or discipline where the Library’s collections have appropriate depth and breadth to support the desired outcomes. Applicants may be at any stage of their career, but must demonstrate their capacity for high quality research or equivalent scholarship, including a strong and relevant publication record, or equivalent record of professional outcomes and accomplishment, relative to opportunity.

Fellowships are available for 4 to 9 months with a stipend of $4,200 per month. Applications due annually around November 1. These fellowships are generally available without regard to an applicant’s place of residence and are intended to support significant works of scholarship that draw on the strengths of the Newberry’s collection. Long-term fellowship residencies must take place primarily during the academic year (September through May). These residential fellowships are available to scholars who hold a PhD or other terminal degree .

Most fellowships are available for one month with a stipend of $2,500 per month. Applications generally due annually in mid-December. These fellowships are intended to assist researchers who need to examine specific items in the Newberry’s collection in order to advance a significant scholarly project. The Arthur and Janet Holzheimer Fellowship in the History of Cartography is available to scholars working on projects related to the history of cartography or projects focusing on cartographic materials in the Newberry’s collection.

This prize is awarded annually for an academic paper in the History of Cartography. The prize includes a $ 1,500 cash award, a one-year membership in the Washington Map Society, and publication of the winning paper in The Portolan, the journal of the Washington Map Society. Full or part-time undergraduate and graduate students, and individuals in first year post-doctoral positions at accredited U.S. or foreign colleges and universities are eligible to apply.

The William L. Clements Library offers fellowships to help scholars access the Library’s rich primary source collections for research. The three broad categories are post-doctoral, short-term, and digital fellowships. The application requires a selection of which type of fellowship you would like to be considered for and the duration you expect your research visit to take. The Clements Library houses a significant map collection, including atlases from the 16th to 19th centuries, and a core collection of manuscript maps from the period of the American Revolution.