It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Subjects: Molecular and cell biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, and other biomedical fields. Sources: Biomedical and cell biology journals. Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC-eLinks. For more information:
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It button for full text access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Subjects: Covers science, technology, medicine, arts, humanities, and the social sciences. Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance. Sources: Over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Includes all of the Medline database and more than 23 million patents. For more information: Create and manage alerts
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Subjects: Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences. Sources: Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources. For more information: Creating search and citation alerts
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Subjects: All, but subject-specific databases may have greater coverage and functionality. Sources: Journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports. Advanced search under menu at top left: search authors, article titles, journal titles, date ranges, more. Scholar Preferences can be set to show UC-eLinks in your results list:
- Click on Settings > Library Links
- Search for "berkeley"
- Choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks," then Save For more information:
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences and medicine, based on the recommendations of a faculty of selected leading researchers. (Formerly called F1000, Faculty of 1000)
An open access preprint archive for the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Annual Reviews publishes more than 30 biomedical and life sciences journals. Articles survey the current understanding of a topic; set the work in historical context; highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of future research; and outline practical applications and general significance of the research.
Publishes unsolicited review articles covering the entire range of the biological sciences. Provides extensive introductions to research areas, defines the state of the art, and draws attention to gaps in knowledge.
Collections of articles from CSH Perspectives in Biology focussed on a single topic. Includes Cancer Biology, Careers, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Neurobiology, and Plant Biology
Collections of articles from CSH Perspectives in Medicine focussed on a single topic. Includes Addiction, Aging, Alzheimer Disease, Epilepsy, the Cochlea, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson's Disease and Retinal Disorders.
Summaries of developments in the biomedical and life sciences, written by prominent researchers and organized by topic. Includes topics in cell and molecular biology, genetics, integrative biology, neurology, and the neurosciences.
A collection of over 50 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field.
"eLS features over 5,000 commissioned, peer-reviewed, citable articles, written by leaders in the life sciences.
eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis."(ELS: Citable Reviews)
Links to all currently subscribed Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews journals (WIREs). Subjects include computational molecular science, data mining, developmental biology, RNA, disease mechansims, and more.