How to find articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, protocols, data and citation management tools, and other resources in Molecular and Cell Biology.
Search for journals, books and more at all of the libraries in the University of California system, or worldwide.
Click the Request button to page a book to a UC Berkeley library or borrow from another library. Requests for article/chapter scans can be placed for materials held at NRLF. Requests require sign-in.
Search within the full text of scanned books. Use the "Find in a library" link (if present) or search on a title in UC Library Search to see if e-book or print versions are held by UC Berkeley.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
Coverage: Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American and selected European graduate schools and universities. Doctoral dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most dissertations since 1997. Dates: 1861 - present Search by: topic or title term, author, institution, department (since 2009), advisor, and other fields.
Dissertations and theses from UC campuses, many available with full text. Search by: topic or title term, author, institution, department (since 2009), advisor, and other fields.
To find dissertations, after searching on author and/or topic, in the Refine your results menu under Resource Type limit to Dissertations. To find dissertations from 2009 or earlier by department, in Advanced Search enter berkeley dissertations name of department in the Subject field and "Ph. D." in Any field.
Click the Request button to page a book to a UC Berkeley library or borrow from another library. Requests for article/chapter scans can be placed for materials held at NRLF. Requests require sign-in.
Search for Master's theses through 2019 in UC Library Search. To search by department, in Advanced search enter berkeley dissertations name of department in the Subject field and enter master OR "M.A." OR "M.S." in Any field. Results may not be comprehensive after 2009.
Provides access to dozens of current medical textbooks in numerous specialty areas, procedural and other videos, a differential diagnosis tool, practice guidelines, cases, patient education materials, and more.
Textbooks, images and videos for neurology and related areas. (Access Medicine Neurology)
Includes the subject areas of basic neurology, neuroanatomy, neuroscience, ophthalmology, movement disorders, EEG monitoring, clinical examination, and pediatric care.
A comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes
This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science.
Featuring relatively short entries on genetics topics written by experts in that topic, Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics provides an effective way to learn about any aspect of genetics, from Abortive Transduction to Zygotes.
The work provides short entries that briefly define key terms, and a guide to additional reading and relevant websites for further study. Many of the entries include figures to explain difficult concepts. Key terms in related areas such as biochemistry, cell, and molecular biology are also included, and there are entries that describe historical figures in genetics, providing insights into their careers and discoveries.
Scholarly monographs covering the areas of molecular, cell, and developmental biology, genetics, evolutionary biology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and molecular pathology. (1970 - 2009)
A collection of 53 full-text scholarly monographs published by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press.
Includes definitions of terms from bioinformatics, biophysics, cell biology, chemistry, computational biology, genetics, immunology, mathematics, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology, systems biology, toxicology, and related fields.
More than 300 overview articles in 20 different subject areas including the economics of biodiversity, evolution, population issues, and theories of biodiversity.
A comprehensive survey of biodiversity across taxonomic groups and ecological regions. Covers topics such as agriculture, fisheries, forests, land-use patterns, population trends, overexploitation, climate change, and threatened, endangered and invasive species.
Covers all aspects of biochemistry, including topics relating to biochemistry, biophysics, cell biology, molecular biology, neuroscience, pharmacology and oncology.
Over 500 different articles on all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, and biophysics. Includes more than 700 images in full color.
Covers the development and evolution of the immune system; molecular immunology; immune system activation; pathogens and tumors; and immune system physiology and dysfunction.
Covers all areas of neurological sciences through over 1,000 entries focused on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, and other related areas of neuroscience.
The contributing authors represent all aspects of neurology from many viewpoints and disciplines to provide a complete overview of the field. Entries are designed to be understandable without detailed background knowledge in the subject matter, and cross-referencing and suggested further reading lead the reader from a basic knowledge of the subject to more advanced understanding. The easy-to-use 'encyclopedic-dictionary' format of the Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences, Second Edition features alphabetic entries, extensive cross-referencing, and a thorough index for quick reference.
Provides full text, comprehensive overviews on animal systematics and morphology as well as extensive coverage of physiology, behaviour, ecology and applied aspects of zoological research. Updated Frequently. [1923--]
Video lectures by leading experts on subjects including biochemistry, cancer, cell biology, genetics & epigenetics, infectious diseases, metabolism & nutrition, microbiology, neuroscience and more.
Additional topics include agriculture & environmental sciences, clinical medicine, immunology, methods, omics & systems biology, pharmaceutical sciences, and reproduction & development. Lecture slides and full text transcripts are available.
Covers the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying inherited human disease. Note: Limited simultaneous users. Please try again later if refused.
The online version of Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, OMMBID is regularly updated with new information on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of inherited diseases, as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment.
Online Oxford Handbooks on topics such as neural development, invertebrate neurology, the auditory brainstem, microbiome-gut-brain axis, learning and memory, pain, neuronal protein synthesis and ion channels, and more.
A standard reference in the pathology and molecular biology of human disease.
Pathobiology of Human Disease bridges traditional morphologic and clinical pathology, molecular pathology, and the underlying basic science fields of cell biology, genetics, and molecular biology, which have opened up a new era of research in pathology and underlie the molecular basis of human disease. Each article provides a comprehensive overview of the selected topic to inform a broad spectrum of readers from research professionals to advanced undergraduate students.
