Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.

Mendeley: Create Bibliographies

This guide will help you use Mendeley, the reference manager and academic collaboration network.

Using Mendeley While You Write

You can use Mendeley to insert citations and create bibliographies in Microsoft Word. The Desktop Citation Plug-in also works with LibreOffice. Mendeley is also compatible with LaTeX and Overleaf. If you prefer to write in Google Docs, the citation managers Zotero and RefWorks have Google Doc integrations.

Inserting Citations and Creating a Bibliography (Mendeley Desktop Citation Plug-In)

See also Mendeley's Guide to Using the Citation Plugin

Insert a citation

Once you have installed the citation plugin, you are ready to add citations to documents in MS Word or other word processing software. To insert a citation using Microsoft Word:

  • Place your cursor where you want the citation.
  • Depending on your version of MS Word: Select the References tab and locate the Mendeley Cite-O-Matic options (PC); or look for the Mendeley toolbar or Mendeley menu (Mac).
  • Click the Insert Citation button and search for references by author, title, or year from your Mendeley Library. References can also be added from Groups - just change the drop-down menu from My Library to one of your Groups.
  • After a reference has been selected, you have the option to add another reference to the same citation. When done, click OK.  
  • After a citation has been inserted, you may change the citation style using the Style drop-down box. 

Cite-o-matic

MS Word floating mendeley toolbar

 

 

Mendeley Menu on Mac

Create a Bibliography

  • After at least one citation has been added to your document, place your cursor where you want your bibliography, then select the Insert Bibliography option. Click the Refresh option to update the bibliography as you add more citations.

Inserting Citations and Creating a Bibliography (Mendeley Cite)

Mendeley Cite is a new product (see Release Notes). For instructions on how to use it, see Getting Started with Mendeley Cite.

Finding, Modifying, and Creating Citation Styles

Mendeley with LaTeX and Overleaf

Mendeley is compatible with LaTeX and Overleaf (formerly WriteLaTeX).