Library Guides: Neuroscience: Articles

Neuroscience article databases

Article databases in the Biological Sciences

Search article databases to find journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters.

To access full text:

Core databases in the neurosciences

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Molecular biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, and other biomedical fields.
Sources: Biomedical journals, MEDLINE, and online books.
Includes: Links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC-eLinks.
For more information:
PubMed guide
Exporting citations
Saving searches and setting up e-mail alerts
Setting Preferences in My NCBI
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Cognition, language, AI/computational modelling, neuroscience, philosophy of mind, evolution and culture.
Sources: Journal articles, books, and reference works.
For more information:
CogNet FAQ
Provides searchable electronic texts in cognitive and brain sciences. Contains work from both from the MIT Press, as well as links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, cognition, and the behavioral and social sciences.
Sources: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
For more information:
PsycINFO Guide
Search tips
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences.
Sources: Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources.
For more information:
Creating search and citation alerts
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Covers science, technology, medicine, arts, humanities, and the social sciences. Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance.
Sources: Over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Includes all of the Medline database and more than 23 million patents.
For more information:
Scopus tutorials
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Broad coverage of scientific fields, as well as the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters. Cited reference searches find articles that cite a given author or reference..
For more information:
Creating search and citation alerts
Cited reference search
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subjects: All, but subject-specific databases may have greater coverage and functionality.
Sources: Journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports.
Advanced search under arrow at right in search box: search authors, article titles, journal titles, date ranges, more.
Scholar Preferences can be set to show UC-eLinks in your results list:
- Click on Settings > Library Links
- Search for "berkeley"
- Choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks," then Save
For more information:

Google Scholar Help
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Select another biological sciences resource:

Conditions of use
Conditions of use and licensing restrictions for electronic resources

Finding articles or journals

Searching by topic
How to identify keywords and use the operators AND and OR, parentheses, and truncation to develop effective searches in databases and catalogs.
Citation search
Copy and paste the article or book title into the search box of UC Library Search. If the title is exact, place double quotes immediately before and after the title, and click Search.
Journal search
Search or browse UC Library Search for journal titles in the biosciences.
Keeping Current
Setting up journal table of contents and new issue alerts
Citation management guide
Overviews of and links for citation management tools such as Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

EndNote Click
Browser extension that streamlines access to article PDFs, even if you don't use EndNote.
Open Access Button
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.
Unpaywall
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Interlibrary borrowing
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.
Purchase recommendation form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

Neuroscience Review Article Sources

Annual Review of Neuroscience
Annual Reviews publish articles that survey the current understanding of a topic; set the work in historical context; highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of future research; and outline practical applications and general significance of the research. Additional relevant articles may be found in the other Annual Reviews Biomedical/Life Sciences Journals.
Biological Reviews
Publishes unsolicited review articles covering the entire range of the biological sciences. Provides extensive introductions to research areas, defines the state of the art, and draws attention to gaps in knowledge.
Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Biology Subject Collections
Collections of articles from CSH Perspectives in Biology focussed on a single topic. Includes Cancer Biology, Careers, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Neurobiology, and Plant Biology
Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Medicine Subject Collections
Collections of articles from CSH Perspectives in Medicine focussed on a single topic. Includes Addiction, Aging, Alzheimer Disease, Epilepsy, the Cochlea, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson's Disease and Retinal Disorders.

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Summaries of developments in the biomedical and life sciences, written by prominent researchers and organized by topic. Includes topics in cell and molecular biology, genetics, integrative biology, neurology, and the neurosciences.
A collection of over 50 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field.
eLS : Citable Reviews in the Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Commissioned, peer-reviewed, citable articles on life sciences topics including neuroscience.

Nature Reviews
Links to all of the currently subscribed Nature Reviews journals. Subjects include cancer, endocrinology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular cell biology, neuroscience, and more.
Neuropsychology Review
Review papers on all aspects of neuroscience contributing to a mechanistic understanding of human neuropsychology.
Neuroscience & Biobehavioral Reviews
Review articles covering the connections between neuroscience and psychological processes and behavior.

Your Librarian

Elliott Smith

he/him

Contact:

Bioscience, Natural Resources &
Public Health Library
epsmith@berkeley.edu

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Biology, Comparative Biochemistry, Integrative Biology, Molecular and Cell Biology, Neuroscience

Secondary menu

Neuroscience: Articles