Skip to main content

RefWorks: Your RefWorks Database

Using New RefWorks, adding references from databases, using RefWorks with MS Word or Google Docs

Organizing Your Database

Create folders to organize references in RefWorks any way you like: by course, project, assignment, etc. 

Click My Folders, then Add a folder 

Name your folder and click Save.

To create subfolders, mouse over a folder name, then click the 3 vertical dots to the right of a folder name, then click Add a subfolder.

You may create as many levels of subfolders as you like (ie, subfolders, sub-subfolders, etc.)

Sorting References in Your Database

Click the sorted by drop-down menu at the top right of your list of references

Change the sort to any of the options listed

You new sort should be maintained across sessions.

Search for Duplicates

Select the folder you wish to search for duplicates in, or select All Documents

Click the 3 vertical dots near the top of the RefWorks window

Select Find duplicates

Select Strict Match or Fuzzy Match

Click Find Duplicates

Delete duplicates, as desired

Important note: Be very careful to not delete duplicates that may already be associated with a Word document or Google Docs document. Deleting these could corrupt your document.

Searching Your Database

Click the magnifying glass icon near the top of the RefWorks window to search all fields in your RefWorks database

Better: click Advanced, where you can:

- Search by field (title, author, etc.) 

- Search within the text of attachments (ie, article PDFs)

- Search within particular folders or subfolders.

Attach Files to References

You may wish to attach files to references in your RefWorks database, such as article PDFs or other files

Click on a reference in your database, so you see the full reference on the right side of the RefWorks window

Click the pencil icon at the top right of the reference

Click Add an attachment ...

Navigate to a file on your computer and click Open

To view or annotate the file, click Read, which now appears with the reference

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.