Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Library Search:
The UC Berkeley/All-UC (and beyond) catalog of books and more.
- Log on with Calnet for best results and options.
- Filter results to "Available online" if desired.
- Wait List: If a book is out on loan, click the "Request" link to initiate a recall.
- Click "Request through Interlibrary Loan" for books not available at UCB.
See the UC Library Search User Guide for more information.
Selected New Books in Optometry & Vision Science: prepared by the UC Berkeley Optometry Librarian and updated periodically.
Search and preview book content.
Use the "Find in a library" link for a copy near you.
Anatomy of the Eye and Orbit: The Clinical Essentials by
Anatomy of the Eye and Orbit: The Clinical Essentials achieves the impressive task of presenting ophthalmology residents, optometry residents, and optometry students with the clinical essentials of ocular anatomy as a foundation for patient care. It emphasizes the aspects of eye and orbit anatomy that are most relevant to clinicians in training, providing the practical, real-world foundation necessary for practice. Focus on the clinically relevant information you really need to know about all ocular structures and tissues. View anatomy from a clinical perspective with over 300 images, including examples of light and electron microscopy, optical coherence tomography, ultrasound biomicroscopy, and more. Gain a multidisciplinary understanding thanks to coverage authored by both optometrists and ophthalmologists Discover the material's relevance to everyday practice thanks to numerous clinical asides throughout each chapter. Access to the eBook includes additional resources such as video on the mechanics of ciliary body contraction and changes in lens shape during accommodation as well as serial MRI slices through the orbit along the X,Y and Z axes. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Publication Date: 2018
Atlas on Inherited Retinal Diseases by
This Atlas of Inherited Retinal Disorders provides a thorough overview of various inherited retinal dystrophies with emphasis on phenotype characteristics and how they relate to the most frequently encountered genes. It also meets the previously unmet needs of PhD students who will benefit from seeing the phenotypes of genes they work on and study. Further, because genetic-testing costs are quite high and spiraling higher, this Atlas will help geneticists familiarize themselves with the candidate gene approach to test patients' genomes, enabling more cost-efficient testing. This invaluable atlas is organized into eight sections starting with an introduction to the basic knowledge on retinal imaging, followed by diseases listed according to inheritance pattern and disorders with extraocular manifestations grouped by defining features. This structure will be intuitive to clinicians and students studying inherited retinal disorders.
Publication Date: 2019
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (15th ed) by
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Publication Date: 2021
Clinical Anatomy and Physiology of the Visual System by
Taking the place of the multiple texts traditionally needed to cover visual anatomy and physiology, Clinical Anatomy and Physiology of the Visual System, 3rd Edition dramatically lightens your load by providing one book that covers it all! This concise, well-referenced resource contains information on the clinical anatomy of the eye, its adnexa and visual pathways, histologic information, plus newly added content on physiology of the human ocular structures. Vivid illustrations complement the text and provide clinical information on diseases and disorders that represent departures from normal clinical anatomy. Comprehensive physiology coverage clarifies the integration between structure and function, eliminating your need for multiple books on the anatomy and physiology of the visual system. An emphasis on clinical application helps you better understand the processes that occur in disease and dysfunction. Genetic information keeps you current with the latest developments in visual anatomy and physiology. Full-color illustrations throughout the text enhance your understanding of anatomical and clinical information. UNIQUE! Clinical Comment sections provide a solid foundation for recognizing and understanding clinical situations, conditions, diseases, and treatments. Photos of normal eye structures illustrate clinical appearance and demonstrate how appearance is directly related to structure. Geriatric coverage, including aging changes in ocular tissue and the visual pathway, keeps you up-to-date with the expanding field of geriatric care. UNIQUE! Expert coverage written by an actual optometrist gives you a practical framework for recognizing and understanding clinical situations, problems, and treatments.
Publication Date: 2012
Clinical Manual of Contact Lenses (4th ed) by
Designed to be used as a quick reference, this fourth edition of the Clinical Manual of Contact Lenses allows readers to easily find the topic and information they need without having to search through an entire chapter to find it. Rigid gas permeable lens design and fitting, soft lens problem-solving, astigmatic management, and bifocal correction are just a few of the subjects covered in this manual. Each chapter includes sample cases to reinforce and demonstrate the practical nature of the topic, with nomograms and proficiency checklists summarizing and emphasizing the important points. With this guide, students and practitioners will have a dependable resource to help fit, evaluate, and troubleshoot any contact lenses, especially specialty designs for years to come. FEATURES: , Written by renowned experts in the field to guarantee accuracy of the information , New chapter on fitting young people with contact lenses addresses an important growth area · New chapter on scleral lenses , Chapters on the clinical management of keratoconus, postsurgical fitting, orthokeratology, presbyopia, extended wear, and correction of astigmatism have been greatly revised and updated Designed as an everyday aid to fitting; the logical layout of cases allows easy access to information , Instructor,,s teaching aids are available as PowerPoint slides on the companion website
Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care (5th ed.) by
Well organized and easy to read, Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care, 5th Edition, takes an accessible, step-by-step approach to describing the commonly used primary care procedures that facilitate accurate diagnosis and effective patient management. This practical, clinically-focused text offers succinct descriptions of today's most frequently encountered optometric techniques supported by research-based evidence. You'll find essential instructions for mastering the procedures you need to know, including recent technical advances in the field. Discusses technical advances that are dramatically altering optometry: Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) and ultra-wide field imaging (optomaps). Presents outstanding new digital images of OCT cases and optomaps for a wide variety of conditions of the central and peripheral retina. Focuses on evidence-based optometry; all procedures include a section that reviews when and how the procedure should be measured and uses clinical wisdom in addition to research-based evidence. Presents new digital images of normal variations of the eye - crucial visual support for understanding what is normal and what is disease. Helps you clearly visualize procedures and eye disorders through full-color photographs, diagrams, and video clips. Provides fully revised print on dry eye assessment based on the latest international Dry Eye Workshop (DEWS) guidelines. Features coverage of changes in the eye due to high myopia, and expounds the need for myopia control techniques. Offers extensive material online to enhance learning: video clips, interactive testing sections, additional photographs, and more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2020
Color Atlas of Ophthalmology: The Quick-Reference Manual for Diagnosis and Treatment (2nd ed) by
Featuring the clinical expertise of respected authorities in the field, the second edition of Color Atlas of Ophthalmology is a lavishly illustrated atlas designed to guide clinicians through the accurate diagnosis and appropriate management of the full range of ophthalmic disorders. For each disease or condition, the book provides full-color clinical photographs that are supplemented by succinct descriptions of symptoms, associated findings, differential diagnosis, and management. Features: Concise text and bullet-point format enables rapid reference and review of important topics More than 600 new high-quality illustrations and photographs depict key concepts Coverage of current medical management and surgical treatments includes discussion of the latest refractive surgery techniques and treatments for cataracts Consistent presentation throughout the book enhances ease of use This pocket-sized atlas is a valuable resource for clinicians, residents, and students in ophthalmology, optometry, primary care, and emergency medicine.
Publication Date: 2010
Contact lens practice by
In this thoroughly revised and updated third edition of Contact Lens Practice, award-winning author, researcher and lecturer, Professor Nathan Efron, provides a comprehensive, evidence-based overview of the scientific foundation and clinical applications of contact lens fitting. The text has been refreshed by the inclusion of ten new authors – a mixture of scientists and clinicians, all of whom are at the cutting edge of their specialty. The chapters are highly illustrated in full colour and subject matter is presented in a clear and logical format to allow the reader to quickly hone in the desired information.
Publication Date: 2018
Cornea (4th ed) by
Highly praised in its first three editions, Cornea has become a market-leading cornerstone text and the immediate go-to resource for anyone working in this hugely popular and evolving sub-specialty. Offered over two volumes and featuring the knowledge of over 200 experts worldwide, it presents state-of-the-art coverage of the expanding range of contemporary corneal surgery, new diagnostic technology, and medical management of corneal and external disease as well as ocular surface disease. This updated edition includes 20 brand-new chapters and 60 video clips, while an enhanced focus on images provides key visual guidance in this challenging field. Exceptionally clear illustrations, diagnostic images, and step-by-step surgical photographs offer superb visual guidance. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 20 brand-new chapters cover the latest advances in the field, such as DMEK, Ultra-Thin DSEK and DSAEK techniques; endothelial cell transplantation; keratoplasty and prosthokeratoplasty techniques; collagen cross-linking; and new refractive surgical techniques (presbyopic implants and SMILE surgery). 60 video clips on Expert Consult show new footage of the latest corneal surgery techniques, including Boston Keratoprosthesis, corneal inlay surgery, and lenticule extraction. Boasts over 170 chapters with unique, cutting-edge content, as well as 2,300 clear illustrations - 670 of which are new to this edition. Presents a detailed exposition of the growing number of techniques for lamellar keratoplasty, including outcomes. Includes new sections on the latest developments in the management of ocular surface disease. Key point overviews in each chapter offer easier access to crucial information.
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of the Eye by
As the first comprehensive reference for the eye, its support structures, diseases, and treatments, Encyclopedia of the Eye is an important resource for all visual scientists, ophthalmologists, and optometrists, as well as researchers in immunology, infectious disease, cell biology, neurobiology and related disciplines. This four-volume reference is unique in its coverage of information on all tissues important for vision, including the retina, cornea and lens. It also covers the physiological and pathophysiologic processes that affect all eye tissues. This Encyclopedia is invaluable for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who are seeking an introduction to an area of eye research. Each chapter explains the basic concepts and provides references to relevant chapters within the Encyclopedia and more detailed articles across the wider research literature. The Encyclopedia is also particularly useful for visual scientists and practitioners who are researching a new area, seeking deeper understanding of important research articles in fields adjacent to their own, or reviewing a grant outside their immediate area of expertise. Written by experts at a level that permits students to grasp key elements of a specific subject Provides an entryway into the major features of current eye research No other source puts this much information, so well-indexed and with so many helpful full color figures and graphics, in the hands of the ophthalmic scientist
Publication Date: 2010
Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach (8th ed) by
Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach is the classic specialty text providing the perfect ophthalmology foundation for trainees through to experienced practitioners. The famous visually dynamic and succinct format enables easy comprehension and focused guidance in the diagnosis and management of ophthalmic disorders. "...must-have comprehensive reference for any general ophthalmic practice." Reviewed by Doody's Review Service, Sept 2015 "...outstanding and excellent textbook." Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, July 2015 "Whether you're learning ophthalmology for the first time, preparing for OKAP/board exams, or trying to remember some detail years down the road to help one of your patients, this text is a fantastic reference." Blog: Ophthalmologyreview, Nov 2015 Build the ultimate foundation in ophthalmology with this market-leading resource. Benefit from guidance on examination, imaging, and the recognition of systemic conditions associated with ocular disease. Completely revised by award-winning ophthalmic educator Brad Bowling, the eighth edition reflects the latest advances, making this an indispensable resource to enhance learning, aid exam preparation and guide clinical practice. Designed for rapid reference and efficient recall, the concise but comprehensive chapters use crisp targeted text, bulleted lists, tables and visual aids to highlight salient points across all ophthalmology subspecialties. Features detailed updates on key evolving topics such as the spectrum of macular disease, with many new disorders added to this edition across a range of subspecialties. Increased emphasis on practical investigation and management. Includes 2,600 illustrations, images and artworks, with over 900 brand new for this edition, including ultra wide-field imaging, fundus autofluorescence, and high-resolution OCT. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and tables from the book on a variety of devices. Kanski & Bowling deliver everything you need to know about ophthalmology today in a multimedia format that ensures efficient, effective recall.
Publication Date: 2016
Neuro-Ophthalmology Illustrated by
A highly praised, well written, and richly illustrated modern classic in neuro-ophthalmology now in an exciting new edition with video clips! Neuro-ophthalmology is an "overlap" specialty, encompassing all disorders that affect the parts of the central nervous system related to vision. Neuro-Ophthalmology Illustrated, Third Edition by world-renowned neuro-ophthalmologists and professors Valérie Biousse and Nancy J. Newman expands on the widely acclaimed prior editions, lauded with awards by the Association of American Publishers and the British Medical Association. The updated text reflects diagnostic advances such as optical coherence tomography and features new high-quality images and videos. The text starts with neuro-ophthalmic and funduscopic examinations, visual fields, commonly used ancillary testing methods, and an overview of visual loss. Subsequent chapters detail a wide array of conditions including retinal vascular diseases, optic neuropathies, disc edema, disorders of higher cortical function, abnormal visual perceptions, diplopia, orbital syndromes, cavernous sinus and orbital vascular disorders, nystagmus/other ocular oscillations, and disorders of the eyelid. Final chapters are dedicated to nonorganic neuro-ophthalmic symptoms and signs, diagnosis of headache and facial pain, neurologic and systemic disorders that commonly have neuro-ophthalmologic manifestations, and an approach to management of the visually impaired patient. Key Highlights Concise text coupled with more than 600 high-quality images enhances understanding of complex concepts Easily accessible within pertinent sections, 69 video clips cover a wide spectrum of topics such as examination techniques, normal eye movements, eye movement disorders, and pupil findings Clinical pearls, flow charts, boxes, tables, and a highly detailed index at the end of the text improve retention and assimilation of knowledge This book is essential reading for students, ophthalmology, neurology, and neurosurgery residents, as well as seasoned clinicians in these specialties. At once authoritative and easy to read, this resource provides readers with all the tools they need to diagnose and manage neuro-ophthalmologic disorders. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Publication Date: 2020
The Neurology of Eye Movements (5th ed) by
This new edition of Leigh and Zee's The Neurology of Eye Movements is available as an enhanced edition for the first time. Your purchase of the print version includes access to the online version via Oxford Medicine Online. By activating your unique access code, you can discover more than 200videos, view and enlarge nearly 250 high resolution images, and annotate the work for future personal reference. The 5th edition of The Neurology of Eye Movements has two interrelated parts. The first comprises a modern synthesis of the anatomical, physiological, and pharmacological substrate for eye movements, including current views on the reflexive and voluntary control of gaze. This synthesis is based onelectrophysiological and inactivation studies in macaque, and behavioural studies in humans that incorporate functional imaging and transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) in normals, and clinicopathological studies in patients with neurological, visual, or vestibular disorders. Sophisticatedexperimental paradigms have been applied to both species to explore aspects of cognition, memory, volition, and reward. This large body of research has demonstrated the power of eye movements as experimental tools. The second part of the book applies this synthesis to the clinical and laboratoryevaluation of patients with abnormal eye movements due to a broad range of disorders - from muscular dystrophy, and genetic disorders, to dementia, including visual and vestibular conditions. By placing links to figures, tables, boxes, and videos, a synthesis of basic research and clinical findings is provided, that may shed new light on disease processes and provide insights on normal brain function.
Publication Date: 2015
Ocular Pathology by
Bridge the gap between ophthalmology and pathology with the 8th Edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-understand reference from Drs. Myron Yanoff and Joseph W. Sassani. Designed to keep you up to date with every aspect of the field, from current imaging techniques to genetics and molecular biology to clinical pearls, Ocular Pathology provides the concise yet complete information you need for board exams and clinical practice. Includes new coverage of genetics and molecular biology, complications in diabetes mellitus, and the role of new drugs and other treatments for macular degeneration. Covers the latest imaging techniques, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), anterior segment OCT (AS-OCT) and OCT-angiography. Contains new images throughout that provide updated correlations between pathological and clinical aspects of each disorder. Clinicopathological correlations are presented with side-by-side image comparisons to make clinical pearl boxes even more useful. Features more than 1,900 illustrations from the collections of internationally renowned leaders in ocular pathology. Presents information in a quick-reference outline format - ideal for today's busy physician. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2020
Ocular Surface Disease: A Case-Based Guide by
Using a case-based format to help disseminate some of the hard-to-find information on ocular surface disease, this book is written and edited by leaders in this rapidly evolving field. Each chapter is built around three actual patient cases with varying degrees of complexity whereby detailed aspects of the care are described in order to provide practical information and illustrate real world challenges. Ocular Surface Disease covers the most common disorders, ranging from dry eye disease and tear film insufficiency to the more severe cicatricial diseases. The role and application of both medical and surgical treatments are carefully explained. The book is intended for ophthalmologists, both in practice or in training, who are seeking an update on the more advanced clinical practices
Publication Date: 2018
System for Ophthalmic Dispensing (3rd ed) by
The ultimate ophthalmic dispensing reference, this book provides a step-by-step system for properly fitting and adjusting eyewear. It covers every aspect of dispensing - from basic terminology to frame selection to eyewear fitting, adjusting, and repairing. Perfect for both students who are just learning about dispensing and practitioners who want to keep their skills up to date, this resource offers in-depth discussions of all types of lenses, including multifocal, progressive, absorptive, safety, recreational, aspheric, and high index. Plus, it goes beyond the basics to explore the "how" and "why" behind lens selection, to help you better understand and meet your patients' vision needs. A glossary of key terms provides easy access to definitions. Proficiency tests at the end of each chapter reinforce your understanding of the material through multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, matching, and true/false questions. A new full-color design with hundreds of illustrations that clearly demonstrate key procedures, concepts, and techniques. Updated coverage of the latest dispensing procedures and equipment. Detailed information on the newest types of lenses, including progressive, absorptive, aspheric, and atoric. Updated photos feature more current frames and lenses, keeping the book up to date with today's eye care trends.
Publication Date: 2007
Vaughan and Asbury's General Ophthalmology (19th ed) by
Ophthalmology's cornerstone text enhanced by a vibrant new full-color presentation For nearly six decades, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology has offered authoritative, state-of-the-art coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of all major ophthalmic diseases, as well as neurological and systemic diseases causing visual disturbances. It is recognized world wide as essential reading for medical students, ophthalmology residents, practicing ophthalmologists, nurses, optometrists, clinicians in other fields of medicine and surgery, as well as those in health-related professions. The Nineteenth Edition builds on this tradition of excellence by offering a new full-color presentation, an increased number of color photos, and cutting-edge content additions and updates - to deliver all-inclusive coverage that encompasses pathophysiology, basic science, and the latest clinical perspectives. The most authoritative review of the subject: * 25 chapters that span the full breadth of ophthalmic disease * Contributions from more than thirty international experts * A comprehensive chapter on the ophthalmologic examination * An entire chapter devoted to pediatric interests * Extensive updates to chapters on the cornea, retina, orbit, neuro-ophthalmology, immunologic diseases of the eye, causes and prevention of vision loss, and lasers in ophthalmology If you are in need of a concise, up-to-date, and well-written overview of the basics of ophthalmology, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, Nineteenth Edition belongs on your desk.
Publication Date: 2018
Wills Eye Manual: Office and Emergency Room Diagnosis and Treatment of Eye Disease (7th ed) by
For more than 25 years, The Wills Eye Manual has been a best-selling source of authoritative guidance on treating ocular disorders in an office, emergency room, or hospital setting. The 7th Edition introduces exciting new changes to bring this pocket-sized reference thoroughly up to date - including extensive multimedia content - while retaining the features that have made it so useful in daily practice. New to this edition: Recent major clinical trials data Expertly produced videos depicting a wide range of common procedures with step-by-step narration, carefully selected to complement key techniques Changing trends in trauma, oculoplastics, cornea, pediatrics, neuro-ophthalmology, uveitis, and more Outstanding features you've come to expect from the Wills Eye Manual: The most accurate and current information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions Effective clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment Concise outline format for portability and quick reference All chapters written and edited by the residents and attending ophthalmologists at one of busiest and largest eye hospitals in the country It's everything you wanted to know and nothing more. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2017