Library Guides: Physics: Articles + Preprints

Preprints

arXiv (e-Print Archive) This link opens in a new window
Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. (x archive - xxx.lanl.gov - Los Alamos ePrint Server)
ADS/Astrophysics Data System (NASA) This link opens in a new window
Three bibliographic databases covering the literature of astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and related fields, including all arXiv preprints.
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, Observatory reports and newsletters, NASA reports, and dissertations.
CERN Document Server (CDS) This link opens in a new window
Find articles, reports and multimedia content in high-energy physics
Over 650,000 bibliographic records, including 320,000 fulltext documents in particle physics and related areas. Includes preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs and more.

INIS - International Nuclear Information System (IAEA)
Bibliographic references and grey literature in nuclear science and technology, operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).
INSPIRE
High energy physics literature database operated by CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC.

Article Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; first click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
SCOAP3 This link opens in a new window
Open access articles supported by the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP³)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.

Off-campus Access

We offer two ways to access UCB licensed library resources from off-campus:

EZProxy
When accessing a library licensed resource via links found on UC Library Search or our Databases A-Z list, you may be prompted to authenticate via CalNet or via your PIN / Cal 1 card number. If you normally search via non-licensed UCB resources (such as Google Scholar), we recommend that you install our bookmarklet in order to authenticate.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN client software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Getting full text

Look for Get it at UC or Full Text buttons to check for electronic access to full text articles.

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have electronic access to an article you need:

UC Library Search: Journal Search
Search for print and electronic journals across all UC Libraries by title or browse using the Journals by Category filters.
Interlibrary Loan
UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) can borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library by using the Interlibrary Loan button or the ILL request form in UC Library Search.
Rush Article Request Form
Request journal articles and conference papers that you need in a hurry but that are not available in the UC Berkeley Libraries (including NRLF).
more...less...
UCB faculty, graduate students, post docs, and research staff in the College of Chemistry, the College of Engineering, and the Departments of Astronomy, Earth & Planetary Science, Geography, Mathematics, Physics, and Statistics are eligible.
Purchase Request Form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

Secondary menu

Physics: Articles + Preprints

Preprints

Article Databases

Off-campus Access

Getting full text