Historic Preservation: A Guide to Resources: Finding Books and Journals

Use the Advanced Search which allows you to combine keywords (and, or, not), authors, subject headings and more, and limit by date, language, etc. Modify subject headings with the addition of sub-headings, such as place names and standard terms, (many of which will also be useful when searching periodical indexes and databases).

• APT Bulletin, publication of the Association for Preservation Technology.
• Newsletter / California Preservation Foundation.
• CRM, Cultural Resource Management, Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service, Continues CRM bulletin 
• Common ground: preserving our nation's heritage. Washington, DC : National Park Service, Archeology and Ethnography Program. Continues: Federal archeology. Magazine offers an in-depth look at the nationwide effort to preserve our heritage in all its forms. 
• Preservation, the magazine of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. 

For information about the library's catalogs, see Guide to UCB Library Catalogs. 

UC Library Search - catalog of materials held by the ning University of California Campuses.

WorldCat -  is a union catalog that includes the collections of 16,000 libraries and cultural institutions.

• UC e-Links provides a way to easily move from an article citation to the electronic version of the item; to check to see if the item is available on your campus; or to Request items not available on our campus. Click on the button to locate the journal in the UC libraries.
• UC e-Links Citation Linker, UC e-Links is an interactive form to identify resources in the UC Libraries, and if not available at UCB, initiate an interlibrary loan request. Select either book, article or book chapter, and complete as much information as possible.

Journal Article Indexes and Databases: See the following web guides for descriptions of and links to the core journal article indexes that cover historic preservation.

• Architecture: Indexes & abstracts databases with good coverage of architectural topics.
• Article Indexes for Engineering 
• Landscape Architecture Indexes
• Planning History Journal Indexes

Recommended Indexes