A digital collection housed at the Internet Archive that represents virtually all the holdings of the Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries, which includes Princeton, Bryn Mawr, Villanova, Swarthmore, and many others.
Provides links to complete sets of high-resolution archival images of entire manuscripts from the collection of the Walters Art Museum, along with detailed catalog descriptions.
With the collaboration of five major libraries located in four countries and the support of the European Commission, this project made it possible to digitise more than 1000 rare and precious manuscripts from the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. All of them were once part of three great royal collections that are currently dispersed and which represent European cultural activity at three distinct periods in history: the Bibliotheca Carolina (8th and 9th centuries), the Library of Charles V and Family (14th century) and the Library of the Aragonese Kings of Naples (15th and 16th centuries).
The sacred, devotional and non-religious manuscripts presented here were created across the breadth of the Islamic world and date from the 9th through the 19th century.
Collection primarily of Western manuscripts, with French being the largest single national group, followed by Italian, English, German, Flemish, Dutch, and Spanish at the Morgan Library & Museum. There are also examples of Armenian, Syriac, Coptic, Ethiopian, Arabic, Persian, and Indian manuscripts.
Manuscripts from Corpus Christi's Parker Library. Strong in Old English texts.
Includes works in theology, music, medieval travelogues and maps, apocalypses, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles and Bibles as well as a collection of English illuminated manuscripts. Of interest to scholars working in many fields including historians of art, music, science, literature, politics and religion.
Two popular medieval texts — one a courtly romance, the other a treatise on medieval society that uses the game of chess as its framework — that were written and decorated in France, ca. 1365.
The goal of e-codices is to provide free access to all medieval and a selection of modern manuscripts of Switzerland by means of a virtual library, which contains 2500 manuscripts from 97 different collections.
A partnership of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and the British Library to digitize and catalog 800 medieval manuscripts produced between the 8th and 12th centuries.
