Library Guides: Databases in Public Health: Non-Article Databases

Health Databases

ClinicalTrials.gov
Information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
Contains the full label contents (current and historical) from almost 200,000 dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.:
Images of package labels;
Name and form of ingredients;
Amount of dietary ingredients;
All label statements.
Data may be downloaded to csv, xlsx, json.
GenBank (NIH. National Center for Biotechnology Information)
GenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database that collects all publicly available DNA sequences from scientists worldwide.

GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Data and maps on infectious diseases and outbreaks: history, geographic spread, and treatment. It also includes a visualization tool to create charts, and a differential tool to assist in diagnosis. Updated daily.
Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
Provides an annual analysis of scholarly journals in the social sciences. Attempts to show the relationship between citing and cited journals in order to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories (i.e. Impact Factor).
Provides citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Provides data on highest impact and most frequently used journals. Consists of two editions: the Science Edition which contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology and the Social Sciences Edition which contains data from roughly 1,500 journals in the social sciences.

MedlinePlus (NLM)
Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Also, learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of medical words, or view medical videos or illustrations.

NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others.
Provide evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.

NIH Reporter
Includes information on research projects funded by the NIH as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). RePORTER also includes links to publications and patents citing support from these projects.

Homeland Security & Criminal Justice

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources related to homeland security policy, including U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents, as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
Includes over 30,000 records for locally held and linked documents on homeland security strategy, policy and research published by international, federal, state and local government agencies as well as research institutions, universities and think tanks. Subject areas include borders and immigration, infrastructure protection, emergency management, terrorism, and more.
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
Summaries of more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library collection. [1970 - present]
Indexes over 170,000 criminal justice books, journal articles, and reports published by the US Department of Justice, other local, state, and Federal government agencies, international organizations, and the private sector are indexed. Access is also provided to more than 7,000 full text documents through the NCJRS Virtual Library linked to the database.

Video

Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement This link opens in a new window
Online collection of newspapers, videos, texts and images that document the rise of a social movement around Disability. Includes material in many formats and from a wide range of disciplines.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight.
Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Video lectures by leading experts on subjects including biochemistry, cancer, cell biology, genetics & epigenetics, infectious diseases, metabolism & nutrition, microbiology, neuroscience and more.
Additional topics include agriculture & environmental sciences, clinical medicine, immunology, methods, omics & systems biology, pharmaceutical sciences, and reproduction & development. Lecture slides and full text transcripts are available.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
JoVE publishes scientific research in a visual format to help researchers learn new experimental techniques and help make research more transparent and reproducible.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Toxicology & Chemical Databases

ChemSpider (Royal Society of Chemistry)
Finds chemical structures and their associated information. Search by structure, substructure, names, CAS RN, InChI, properties, data source, elements, and more.
Comparative Toxicogenomics Database
Promotes understanding about the effects of environmental chemicals on human health by integrating data from curated scientific literature to describe chemical interactions with genes and proteins, and associations between diseases and chemicals, and diseases and genes/proteins.
eChemPortal
Information on:
Physical Chemical Properties
Ecotoxicity
Toxicity
Environmental Fate and Behaviour
Classification and labelling
Exposure and use.

ECOTOX Database This link opens in a new window
Locate single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife [1972 - present]
Contains 472,705 records of single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life. Data is extracted from primarily peer-reviewed sources.

IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System) (US EPA)
IRIS provides data on human health effects that may result from exposure to substances found in the environment. It includes chronic health hazard assessments for noncarcinogenic effects, including RfD and RfC, and carcinogenicty assessments for lifetime exposures.

Merck Index This link opens in a new window
A source of reference information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals for the physical, life, and health sciences.
Includes more than 11,000 entries for single substances and related groups of compounds covering: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity information; and therapeutic uses. (Merck Index, Fifteenth edition)
Pharos This link opens in a new window
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).

PubChem
Contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. PubChem's chemical structure database may be searched on the basis of descriptive terms, chemical properties, and structural similarity. You may search for unique chemical structures or deposited structure records using text terms such as names, synonyms, keywords, or depositor-supplied identifiers, and for bioassay records using text terms from the bioassay description.
Toxicological Profiles (ATSDR)
Information about contaminants found at hazardous waste sites: health effects, potential for human exposure, analytical methods, and more.
TRI (Toxic Release Inventory) - EPA
Information on toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually by certain covered industry groups as well as federal facilities." TRI lists amounts of accidental and intentional releases, including covert releases when known, of certain chemicals released to the environment.

Research Methods

Current Protocols This link opens in a new window
Experimental procedures in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, molecular biology, neuroscience, toxicology, and other research areas. Click "Journals" at the top of the page to see a full list of titles.
Provides access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
JoVE publishes scientific research in a visual format to help researchers learn new experimental techniques and help make research more transparent and reproducible.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 800 books, reference works, and journal articles from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.
SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.

Technical Reports & Standards

ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to ASTM International publications, including current and redline ASTM Standards (also known as the Annual Book of ASTM Standards), ASTM Special Technical Publications, and manuals. Includes access to ISO (International Organization for Standardization) standards.
CiteSeerX This link opens in a new window
CiteSeerX contains "full-text computer science articles, papers, and technical reports freely available on the web. " Includes many papers on public health related topics.
Indexes full-text computer science articles, papers, and technical reports that are freely available on the web.

Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive (COBRA)
COBRA is a scholar-driven repository of biostatistics working papers. Major departments and institutions are contributing their prepublication materials to the collection.
Defense Technical Information Center — Public Technical Reports
Provides access to citations of unclassified documents. Documents cover all manner of public health topics: cancer screening, asthma, pesticide exposure, infectious diseases, etc.
EPPI-Centre Evidence Library
Conducts systematic reviews of research evidence across a range of different topic areas and provides support for others who are undertaking systematic reviews or using research evidence.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Provides full-text documents on health information and to support health-care decision making. Includes evidence reports and technical reviews from the AHRQ, protocols from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), recommendations from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF), and more.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Find technical information as well as analytical and search tools for the engineering community.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for technical reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies.
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). The NTIS archives reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and others.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, patents, meeting abstracts, and technical reports in biochemistry, organic, inorganic, physical, and analytical chemistry. Search chemical substances by chemical name, chemical structure, Registry Numbers, and formula. Also include CAS Registry, the authority for finding CAS registry numbers.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.
OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
Gateway for research funded by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors.
Includes journal articles, technical reports, datasets, software, patents, conference papers, books, theses, and multimedia. Some full text.

Mapping Databases

See also "Mapping Websites & Applications" on the GIS & Mapping for Public Health guide.

GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Data and maps on infectious diseases and outbreaks: history, geographic spread, and treatment. It also includes a visualization tool to create charts, and a differential tool to assist in diagnosis. Updated daily.
Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
SimplyAnalytics
Access to business packages within this resource have been discontinued effective 6/30/24 due to library budget cuts." A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart-library@berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

Secondary menu

Databases in Public Health: Non-Article Databases

Table of Contents

Health Databases

Homeland Security & Criminal Justice

Video

Toxicology & Chemical Databases

Research Methods

Technical Reports & Standards

Mapping Databases