Health Statistics & Data: Cancer Data and Statistics

ACS projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden, because cancer incidence and mortality data lag three to four years behind the current year. Also includes the most current trends in cancer occurrence and survival.

First issue of every year has estimates of cancer statistics for the upcoming year.

The CPDB is a single standardized resource of the results of 45 years of chronic, long-term carcinogenesis bioassays. Data are included from 6153 experiments reported in the general literature and in the in Technical Reports of the National Cancer Institute/National Toxicology Program (NCI/NTP). Information is given in the CPDB on strain, sex, route of compound administration, target organ, histopathology, author’s opinion about carcinogenicity, and reference to the published paper, as well as quantitative data on statistical significance, tumor incidence, dose-response curve shape, length of experiment, duration of dosing, and dose-rate.

Breaks down cancer rates by state, race and ethnicity, and cancer types.

From the National Cancer Institute. Includes datasets from completed occupational epidemiology studies and an interactive risk attributable program. Also available are epidemiological software programs, information on fellowships and research activities, and the full-text of journal articles written by DCEG researchers.

HINTS, from the National Cancer Institute, measures how people access and use health information; how people use information technology to manage health and health information; and the degree to which people are engaged in healthy behaviors. Several items in HINTS have a specific focus on cancer prevention and control. Downloadable data sets are available online.

Provides cancer statistics as well as tools and data for researchers.

Premier source for cancer statistics in the U.S. Also has datasets and software for researchers.

Includes incidence data on invasive cancer diagnosed by year. The population coverage varies by diagnosis year. Also includes mortality data from malignant neoplasms (cancers) as recorded in the National Vital Statistics System from the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The CCR is California's statewide population-based cancer surveillance system.

Cancer incidence and mortality information for the Bay Area.

Standardizes cancer reporting to integrate surveillance into cancer control planning, characterizes areas and demographic groups, and exposes health disparities. Includes interactive graphics and maps.

A comprehensive guide to health statistics and data resources.

Published every five years, the CI5 databases provide access to detailed information on the incidence of cancer recorded by cancer registries (regional or national) worldwide.

An interactive web-based platform presenting global cancer statistics to inform cancer control and cancer research. Includes data from IARC’s Cancer Surveillance Branch (CSU), including GLOBOCAN; Cancer Incidence in Five Continents (CI5); International Incidence of Childhood Cancer (IICC); and several cancer survival benchmarking projects (SurvCan and SURVMARK).