Library Guides: OOMPH Library Resources: Probability/Statistics/Biostatistics: Online Encyclopedia, Books, Handbooks

Online Books

Biostatistics (UCSF)
Includes Biostatistics Knowledge Base; Best Practices; and information on relative risk, logistic regression, sample size, interpretation of coefficients, and much more.
Requires CalNet login.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables & Formulae
Essential formulas, tables, figures, and descriptions, including many diagrams, group tables, and integrals.

Encyclopedia of Biostatistics This link opens in a new window
Contains expanded and enhanced coverage of key topics including Bayesian methodology, modeling the spread of infectious diseases, bioinformatics, clinical trials, computation, genetics, and more.
Contains over 1,300 entries on information that supports the development and use of statistical methods in the life and medical sciences. Contains expanded and enhanced coverage of key topics including bioinformatics, clinical trials, computation, genetics, and Ba1ian methods and applications.

Encyclopedia of Mathematics
An open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community, with more than 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics.

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of statistics including probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and applications of statistical methods. Regularly updated with new articles and revisions.
Covers all areas of statistics including probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and applications of statistical methods. Includes the full text of the second print edition, the entire original edition, plus supplements and updates. Regularly updated with new articles and revisions to previously published articles.

Handbook of Writing for the Mathematical Sciences
Information on writing a technical paper or talk, from choosing the right journal in which to publish to handling your references. Its overview of the entire publication process is invaluable for anyone hoping to publish in a technical journal.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
A reference tool for researchers and other users in applied mathematics, the physical sciences, engineering, and elsewhere who encounter special functions in the course of their everyday work.
Table of Integrals, Series and Products
The major reference source for integrals in the English language. It is essential for mathematicians, scientists, and engineers, who rely on it when identifying and subsequently solving extremely complex problems.
Wolfram|Alpha: Computational Knowledge Engine
Compute expert-level answers using Wolfram’s algorithms, knowledge base and AI technology.