Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
The Library provides access to thousands of online newspapers and other news sources, from the very local to sources from all over the globe, and from general sources to those specializing in environment, health, ethnic groups, etc.
Use UC Library Search, the UCB Library catalog, to search for titles. More information is available on the Public Health Library's Electronic Newspapers and News Sources web page.
<
Climate Change and Health Hazards: Addressing Hazards to Human and Environmental Health from a Changing Climate by
This book contains a set of papers which explore the links among climate change, health, and hazards and demonstrate how they interact. It emphasizes the urgency of immediate and more ambitious action to address climate risks. According to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), human-induced climate change is known to be causing dangerous and widespread disruptions in nature and is affecting the lives of billions of people around the world, despite efforts to reduce the risks. Climate change is also negatively influencing health and is mounting threat to our wellbeing and a healthy planet. The world is also facing significant climate hazards over the next two decades, with global warming expected to soon reach 1.5°C. Even temporarily exceeding this warming level will result in additional severe impacts, some of which may be irreversible. There is therefore a perceived need for publications which may foster a greater understanding of how climate change connects to human health and the role played by hazards in this context. It is against this background that this book is being prepared.
Air Pollution and Environmental Health by
Air pollution is an alarming problem, not only in terms of air quality, but also in relation to health issues. Toxic air pollutant concentrations produce harmful impacts on plant health and human health. Further, though there are various sources of air pollution, anthropogenic and biogenic sources are becoming increasingly problematic. A number of control methods have been applied to reduce the air pollutant concentrations so that their global environmental burden on plants as well as humans can be mitigated. However, as confirmed in numerous reports and studies, their concentrations continue to be very high and everyday cases related to air pollution have become exponentially high not only in developing countries but also in developed countries. In plants, toxic air quality has various adverse effects, including biochemical and physiological disorders, chronic diseases and/or lower yields. In humans, air pollutants affect the body's metabolism and immune system, lungs and central nervous system. This book provides an essential overview of air pollution, its impacts on plant and human health, and potential control strategies. The respective chapters cover general monitoring and characterization techniques for air pollutants, air quality modelling applications, plant and human health effects, risk assessment, and air pollution control policy. Given its scope, the book offers a valuable and unique resource for students of Environmental Science, Biological Science, Medical Science and Agriculture; and for environmental consultants, researchers and other professionals whose work involves air quality, plant and human related research.
Environmental Contaminants and Endocrine Health by
Environmental Contaminants and Endocrine Health focuses specifically on contaminants with hormonal disrupting activities. The book provides insights into the multiple effects of endocrine-disrupting chemicals (EDCs) and their mechanism of action (MoA) on metabolism, reproduction and the multiple physiological roles of the endocannabinoid system which has recently been indicated as new target. The content systematically covers EDC sources and effects, EDCs as sources of disease and health impairment in laboratory models, EDCs as the cause of disease and health impairment in humans and wild species, and the removal of hazardous pollutants from wastewaters to highlight intervention, mitigation and adaptation for reduced threat. This content will be a foundational resource for academic and research staff in endocrinology and hormone toxicology as well as for professors, researchers and students in these areas. Includes important foundational coverage of the endocrine system, definitions of EDC sources and descriptions, model examples and mechanisms of action biological effects Provides coverage of EDC effects in humans and animals, from metabolic alterations to epidemiological studies of fertility and metabolism Presents insights into the confirmed and suspected human diseases spectrum with origins linked to EDC exposure, including cancers, intellectual disabilities, autism, birth defects of the urethra (hypospadias), decreased sperm count, increased rates of miscarriage, obesity, type 2 diabetes, and more
Climate Change and Global Public Health by 
Nanotechnology Environmental Health and Safety by 
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens by 
Tackling Health Inequalities: Reinventing the Role of Environmental Health by 
One HealthIntegrated Approach to 21st Century Challenges to Health by
One Health: Challenges for the 21st Century is a transdisciplinary approach to health, considering the interdependency of human, animal, and environmental health. This approach to health promotion and disease prevention calls for integrative and interdisciplinary cooperation. From zoonotic diseases to environmental degradation, this book introduces core concepts of the One Health approach by presenting focal key challenges. The objective of this book is not centered solely on epidemiologic interactions of infectious diseases but also on the environmental and ecological implications of current major threats. Written by international experts, the ten chapters provide a comprehensive approach consisting of core concepts, practical examples, and applications that align with key challenges to public health. Therefore, this book is a valuable resource for public health professionals, veterinarians, physicians, environmental researchers, policymakers, and other professionals who seek to understand the overarching complexities of health.