It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Search biomedical literature citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. [1950 - present]
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It button for full text access. To use the free public version, please click here.
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses.
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
CINAHL is the primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. [1937-]
CINAHL Complete includes articles, books, audiovisuals, standards of care, and more. Indexing over 5,000 journals from 1937 forward, it features PreCINAHL citations and cited references starting with 1985. Over 730 journals are available full text.
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Handbook on Implementation Science by Per Nilsen (Editor); Sarah A. Birken (Editor)The Handbook on Implementation Scienceprovides an overview of the field's multidisciplinary history, theoretical approaches, key concepts, perspectives, and methods. By drawing on knowledge concerning learning, habits, organizational theory, improvement science and policy research, the Handbook offers novel perspectives from a broad group of international experts in the field representing diverse disciplines. The editors and authors seek to advance implementation science through careful consideration of current thinking and recommendations for future directions. Featured key concepts include strategies, context, outcomes, fidelity, adaptation and sustainability. Chapters introduce topics, define them, and explain their application in implementation science with examples that resonate with a diverse readership including implementation researchers, instructors, students and practitioners with experience in the field ranging from novices to experienced scholars. Contributors include:G. Aarons, B. Andersson-Gäre, M. Bender, S. Bernhardsson, S. Birken, K.A. Blase, A. Bunger, P. Cairney, C. Carroll, D. Cragun, G. Curran, D. D'Lima, L. Damschroder, K.S. Dickson, J. Edwards Becan, A.C. Eldh, P.-E. Ellström, T. Finch, D.L. Fixsen, B. Gardner, T. Greenhalgh, E. Haines, G. Harvey, H. Hasson, M. Hatch, S. Hwang, A. Kirk, A. Kitson, J. Leeman, L. Lennox, F. Lorecatto, J.C. Lowery, C. May, N. McCleary, S. Michie, J.C. Moullin, M. Neher, P. Nilsen, R.Y. Nooraie, J. Phillips, S. Potthoff, J. Presseau, E. Proctor, T. Rapley, C.M. Reardon, J. Rycroft-Malone, K. Seers, N. Sevdalis, F.F. Sniehotta, N.A. Stadnick, J. Thor, T. Waltz, J. Wassar-Kirk, B. Weiner, T. Wiley
Publication Date: 2020
Collaborative Performance Management for Public Health: a practical guide by Amanda E. McCarty; Sonja M. Armbruster; John W. MoranPerformance management can be an uncomfortable topic within the discipline of public health. Written by leaders in public health performance management and quality improvement, this book carefully explains what public health performance management is - and makes a strong case for why it is needed to tackle successfully the long-standing health issues plaguing communities and states. Notably, the book eschews the need to invest in technology or to learn a new performance management vocabulary. Rather the authors advocate for more thoughtful use of the resources already available in the organization, relying on public health leadership working in conjunction with well trained staff to manage their own organizational performance. To be broadly accepted within public health, performance management concepts and models have to be framed and populated with public health examples, and this book offers a wealth of practical insights and case studies that may be immediately applied to public health organizations, from assessing an organization's needs, introducing a performance management system to the organization, developing an agency's goals and targets, to implementation of sound performance management systems and plans. Collaborative Performance Management for Public Health is required reading for all public health leaders and employees concerned with maximizing the health impact of scarce resources.
Publication Date: 2020
Comparative Effectiveness Research in Health Services by Levy, Adrian; Sobolev, Boris (Editors)The Handbook of Health Services Research is a reference for all aspects of the field of health services and outcomes research. It addresses the increasing need for comprehensive, yet balanced, information in a field that welcomes various disciplines: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management, policy and information technology. This well-organized reference is an indispensable source of information for everyone who seeks to develop understanding of health systems and to learn about historical, political, and socioeconomic factors that influence health policies at the global, national, regional and local level. Specifically, the Handbook helps readers: Recognize core concepts of health services and outcomes research, such as, need, access, equity, quality and safety; Become familiar with social, political, organizational, behavioral and economic theories that have influenced health systems designs; Learn about frameworks developed for evaluating the organization, financing, delivery, utilization and outcomes of health services; Get an introduction to methods of comparative effectiveness research, program evaluation, health technology assessment and health economics; Identify types and sources of data appropriate for generating valid and reliable information about the delivery of health services; Learn about strengths and weaknesses of various research designs used to study health services and policy issues. The online version of the Handbook of Health Services Research is in the format of a dynamically updated knowledge base, offering search tools, cross-referencing across chapters and linking to supplement data, other major reference works and external articles.
Publication Date: 2020
Cost-Benefit Analysis for Project Appraisal by Per-Olov Johansson; Bengt KristromWritten by two leading experts, this is a compact guide to the key tools and methods necessary to carry out cost-benefit analysis (CBA). The authors use modern economic tools to obtain general equilibrium cost-benefit rules that can be used to evaluate small projects, as well as large and even mega projects. Intertemporal issues like discounting, the shadow price of capital, and the treatment of risk are covered, and a state-of-the-art summary of available methods for the valuation of unpriced commodities is also included. In addition, the book provides detailed expositions of the marginal cost of public goods (MCPF), the marginal excess burden of taxes (MEB), and second-best evaluation rules, and shows how these concepts are interrelated. The importance of undertaking due diligence in evaluations is highlighted. This is an excellent toolkit for graduate students learning about the principles of CBA, and is a useful guide for government officials and policymakers.
Publication Date: 2015
Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine by Theodore G. Ganiats; Peter J. Neumann; Gillian D. Sanders; Louise B. Russell; Joanna E. Siegel (Editors)Twenty years after the first edition of Cost-effectiveness in Health and Medicine established the practical benchmark for cost-effectiveness analysis, this completely revised edition of the classic text provides an essential resource to a new generation of practitioners, students, researchers,and policymakers.Produced by the Second Panel on Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine - a team of 13 experts from fields including decision science, economics, ethics, psychology, and medicine - this new edition is a comprehensive guide to the use of cost-effectiveness analysis as an evaluative tool at theinstitutional and policy levels. As health care systems face increasing pressure to derive maximum value from expenditures, the guidelines in this new text represent not just the best information available, but a vital guide to health care decision-making in a challenging new era.Completely revised and enriched with examples and expanded coverage, this second edition of Cost-effectiveness in Health and Medicine builds on its predecessor's excellence, offering required reading for both analysts and decision makers.
Publication Date: 2016
Cost Effectiveness Modelling for Health Technology Assessment: A Practical Course by Richard Edlin; Christopher McCabe; Claire Hulme; Peter Hall; Judy WrightThis book provides an introduction to decision analytic cost-effectiveness modelling, giving the theoretical and practical knowledge required to design and implement analyses that meet the methodological standards of health technology assessment organisations. The book guides you through building a decision tree and Markov model and, importantly, shows how the results of cost-effectiveness analyses are interpreted. Given the complex nature of cost-effectiveness modelling and the often unfamiliar language that runs alongside it, we wanted to make this book as accessible as possible whilst still providing a comprehensive, in-depth, practical guide that reflects the state of the art - that includes the most recent developments in cost-effectiveness modelling. Although the nature of cost effectiveness modelling means that some parts are inevitably quite technical, across the 13 chapters we have broken down explanations of theory and methods into bite-sized pieces that you can work through at your own pace; we have provided explanations of terms and methods as we use them. Importantly, the exercises and online workbooks allow you to test your skills and understanding as you go along.
Publication Date: 2016
Decision Science for Future Earth by Tetsukazu Yahara (Editor)This open access book provides a theoretical framework and case studies on decision science for regional sustainability by integrating the natural and social sciences. The cases discussed include solution-oriented transdisciplinary studies on the environment, disasters, health, governance and human cooperation. Based on these case studies and comprehensive reviews of relevant works, including lessons learned from past failures for predictable surprises and successes in adaptive co-management, the book provides the reader with new perspectives on how we can co-design collaborative projects with various conflicts of interest and how we can transform our society for a sustainable future. The book makes a valuable contribution to the global research initiative Future Earth, promoting transdisciplinary studies to bridge the gap between science and society in knowledge generation processes and supporting efforts to achieve the UN's Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Compared to other publications on transdisciplinary studies, this book is unique in that evolutionary biology is used as an integrator for various areas related to human decision-making, and approaches social changes as processes of adaptive learning and evolution. Given its scope, the book is highly recommended to all readers seeking an integrated overview of human decision-making in the context of social transformation.
Publication Date: 2021
Digital Health by Homero Rivas (Editor); Katarzyna Wac (Editor)This book presents a comprehensive state-of the-art approach to digital health technologies and practices within the broad confines of healthcare practices. It provides a canvas to discuss emerging digital health solutions, propelled by the ubiquitous availability of miniaturized, personalized devices and affordable, easy to use wearable sensors, and innovative technologies like 3D printing, virtual and augmented reality and driverless robots and vehicles including drones. One of the most significant promises the digital health solutions hold is to keep us healthier for longer, even with limited resources, while truly scaling the delivery of healthcare. Digital Health: Scaling Healthcare to the World addresses the emerging trends and enabling technologies contributing to technological advances in healthcare practice in the 21st Century. These areas include generic topics such as mobile health and telemedicine, as well as specific concepts such as social media for health, wearables and quantified-self trends. Also covered are the psychological models leveraged in design of solutions to persuade us to follow some recommended actions, then the design and educational facets of the proposed innovations, as well as ethics, privacy, security, and liability aspects influencing its acceptance. Furthermore, sections on economic aspects of the proposed innovations are included, analyzing the potential business models and entrepreneurship opportunities in the domain.
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Human Centric Visualization by Weidong Huang (Editor)Visualizations are visual representations of non-visual data. They are produced for people to interact with and to make sense of the underlying data. Rapid advances in display technology and computer power have enabled researchers to produce visually appealing pictures. However, the effectiveness of those pictures in conveying the embedded information to end users has not been fully explored.Handbook of Human Centric Visualization addresses issues related to design, evaluation and application of visualizations. Topics include visualization theories, design principles, evaluation methods and metrics, human factors, interaction methods and case studies. This cutting-edge book includes contributions from well-established researchers worldwide, from diverse disciplines including psychology, visualization and human-computer interaction.This handbook is designed for a professional audience composed of practitioners, lecturers and researchers working in the field of computer graphics, visualization, human-computer interaction and psychology. Undergraduate and postgraduate students in science and engineering focused on this topic will also find this book useful as a comprehensive textbook or reference.
Publication Date: 2013
Publication Date: 2020
Implementation Science 3.0 by Robyn Mildon; Bianca Albers; Aron Shlonsky (Editors)This textbook presents a much-needed overview of the recent developments in implementation science -- a discipline that is young, has gained increasing attention in recent years, and has experienced substantial and rapid growth in knowledge production and debate. It captures the latest developments in research and pushes the reader toward the next phase for implementation science: bridging the science-to-practice divide. Drawing from multidisciplinary, international research by top scholars in the field, this book provides a critical but friendly approach to understanding what implementation science is, what it isn't, and where it's going. Topics include: * Factors associated with effective implementation * Organizational context and readiness for change * Implementation theories, models, and frameworks * Enhancing implementation measurement * Bringing interventions to scale * Closing the science-practice gap in implementation Implementation Science 3.0 is a timely, important resource for researchers, students, and others with an interest in implementation working across the fields of social welfare,public health, education, and psychology. The chapter "Making sense of implementation theories, models and frameworks",in which some modifications to the text were made, is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License in Nilsen, P. (2015). Implementation Science, 10(53), via link.springer.com.
Publication Date: 2020
Process Improvement Handbook by Boutros, Tristan; Purdie, TimThe Definitive Guide to Process Improvement & Operational Excellence. This complete body of knowledge for process improvement professionals provides an easy-to-understand foundation for process maturity capability in any company. Gold Medal Winner of the 2015 Axiom Book Award for best business theory book! The Process Improvement Handbook: A Blueprint for Managing Change and Increasing Organizational Performance introduces an all-encompassing body of knowledge for anyone looking to improve their operating environment. It presents a practical way to build and improve processes, and can assist professionals whether they are learning the basics of Process Improvement, planning their first improvement project, or evangelizing process oriented thinking throughout their organization. All of the concepts explained in this book encapsulate everything needed to enable process excellence from start to finish, saving time, conserving resources, and accomplishing more in a competitive timeframe. These practical insights will make you more effective in any Process Improvement role: from contributor, stakeholder, executive, team member, department, business division, supplier, and customer. Highlights include: A comprehensive framework that outlines the methods, tools, and competencies used to create sustainable Process Improvement effortsAn industry-leading architecture approach for building organizational processes - Process-Oriented Architecture (POA)Demonstrating the importance of end-to-end process improvement, and the pitfalls of individual and isolated improvement methodsCapitalizing on practical agility principles to deliver faster resultsSample learning materials such as instructions for getting started, practical guides, real-world case studies, and templates available in the book and on an affiliated websiteA self-sufficient reference guide that
all employees can easily use or self-train withA common vocabulary within the Process Improvement profession for discussing, writing, and applying Process Improvement concepts
Publication Date: 2013
Situational Analysis: Grounded Theory after the Postmodern Turn by Adele E. ClarkeThis book provides a detailed and comprehensive introduction to situational analysis of qualitative data. Adele E Clarke personally created the situational analysis approach, no other book currently deals with it. She carefully situates herself and the situational analysis approach vis-à-vis other current approaches to grounded theory (specifically) and to qualitative data analysis (more generally). Situational analysis is unique in that it both uses and extends grounded theory; it employs established coding and memoing strategies, while extending the method to include three new kinds of maps and analyses of the situation focused upon in one′s research. This is also the first publication about using grounded theory with historical, visual, and discursive materials.
Publication Date: 2005
Value for Money: How to Show the Value for Money for All Types of Projects and Programs in Governments, Non-Governmental Organizations, Nonprofits, and Businesses. by Patricia Pulliam Phillips; Jack J. Phillips; Gina Paone; Cyndi Huff Gaudet; Kyle McLeodWritten by two of the world's most well-known ROI (Return on Investment) gurus, this guide is indispensable for anyone involved in showing the value of money for projects and programs in governments, non-governmental organizations, nonprofits, and businesses. These range from human capital programs to marketing initiatives, technology implementations, systems integrations, quality and lean processes, public health initiatives, procurement procedures, public relations events, risk management policies, economic development programs, corporate social responsibility projects, public policy programs, branding activities, innovation programs, customer satisfaction projects, and everything in between. In a step-by-step process, the book shows how to measure the success of projects and programs, including measuring impact and ROI (Return on Investment). This book also shows how to forecast the value of the project in advance and how to collect data during and after project implementation. It addresses improvements throughout the process so that the project delivers optimum value. In addition to businesses, this book is appropriate for governments, NGOs, nonprofits, universities and healthcare organizations. As a reference for those who are seeking ways to assign value to what they have measured, the book will clarify and resolve much of the mystery surrounding the conversion of data to monetary values. Building on a tremendous amount of experience, application, practice, and research, the book will be based on the work of many individuals and organizations, particularly those who have been reaching the ultimate levels of accountability using the ROI Methodology. Developed in an easy-to-read format and fortified with examples, tips, and checklists, this will be an indispensable guide for those who seek to understand accountability issues.
Publication Date: 2019
Public Health Librarian; Interim Optometry & Vision Science Liaison