OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 225A/225B: Implementation Science: Resources & Tools

The Evidence Project uses implementation science—the strategic generation, translation, and use of evidence—to improve family planning policies, programs, and practices: investigating which strategies work best in improving, expanding, and sustaining family planning services, and evaluating how to implement and scale up those strategies.

This tool guides users through the steps needed to develop, implement and evaluate a knowledge translation plan. Specific examples of applying a KT plan include implementing a method of shared/participatory decision making and reorganizing care delivery to be more collaborative. The guide also provides examples for each of the RE-AIM steps, such as adoption and implementation.

A searchable, online collection of methods (processes) and tools (instruments) for knowledge translation, economic evaluation, and more, in public health. From National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (Canada)

A comprehensive database of over 10,000 cost-utility analyses on a wide variety of diseases and treatments.

Conducts research and development on economic analytic methods; produces EPA economic reports; provides guidance for performing economic analysis. Focus areas include: benefit-cost research and techniques, economic impact models and measures, economic incentive mechanisms.

HCCI is a non-partisan organization with an overarching goal to provide complete, accurate, unbiased information about health care utilization and costs to better understand the U.S. health care system. Through research and access to a large health insurance claims database, HCCI seeks to offer answers to critical questions about health care spending and utilization for the entire privately insured health population.

This database was created to assist policymakers at all levels of government in identifying evidence-based programs and making data-driven budget decisions. This one-stop online resource provides policymakers with an easy way to find information on the effectiveness of various interventions as rated by eight national research clearinghouses. Search by Policy Area (child welfare, health, etc.); Intervention Type; rating; and Source.

Harvard Business School-style teaching cases and brief cases that examine programmatic, organizational, and policy-related decisions global health leaders face across various disease conditions and health care delivery systems in resource-limited settings. Teaching notes and instructional material, all available at no cost, facilitate undergraduate- or graduate-level courses and executive education.

CHESAI works to provide systematic opportunities and environments for deepening the health policy and systems research knowledge base, particularly for understanding and impacting on complex health systems. Links to the Health Policy & Systems Teaching Resources: reference material, case studies, modules, and more, as well as other resources.

Evidence-based recommendations of programs and policies that will help improve health and prevent disease. Hundreds of interventions have been reviewed. Systematic reviews are used to answer questions such as:
- Which program and policy interventions have been proven effective?
- Are there effective interventions that are right for my community?
- What might effective interventions cost; what is the likely return on investment?

Supports and promotes evidence-based health policy-making through comprehensive and rigorous analysis of the dynamics of health care systems in Europe. Site links to Health Systems and Policy Monitor; Health system reviews; and more.

Interdisciplinary educational, research and service organization. Works on research, treatment, public health practice and policy development for tuberculosis, maternal and newborn child health, reproductive health, and more.

This Platform features summaries and links to editorially-selected publications on the key themes. The documents are sourced from academic research, policy papers and global development organisations: Briefings – Short documents and guidelines; Background reports – Literature and learning from past events; Evidence synthesis – Thematic expertise drawn together from a range of global resources; Foresight reports – Understanding the implications of present and future trends; Technical tools – Best practise and practical reflections.

The CFIR provides a menu of constructs arranged across 5 domains that can be used in a range of applications. It a practical theory-based guide for systematically assessing potential barriers and facilitators to guide tailoring of implementation strategies and adaptations for the innovation being implemented and/or explain outcomes. It promotes consistent use of constructs, systematic analysis, and organization of findings from implementation studies.

Explore D&I TMF models by Socio-Ecological Levels, Constructs, Field of Origin, or by keyword.

Continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. Health Systems Evidence also contains economic evaluations in these same domains, descriptions of health system reforms (with links to syntheses and economic evaluations when possible), and descriptions of health systems.

Implementation science is the scientific study of methods and strategies that facilitate the uptake of evidence-based practice and research into regular use by practitioners and policymakers. This University of Washington site includes publications, research tips, trainings, and more.

Contributes to the best practices and science of implementation, organization change, and system reinvention to improve outcomes across the spectrum of human services. Provides reports, books and articles.

Support the crafting, implementation, and evaluation of comprehensive prevention initiatives and effective coalitions. The tools include information on developing effective coalitions, developing prevention plans, and more.

Will help you conduct an implementation research project through a standard process so that you have high quality results that are reliable. Can download entire site for offline use. From the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (UNICEF, etc.)

Using best practices and innovative approaches, the project develops and implements robust logistics solutions, fosters supportive commodity security environments, procures and ships health commodities, and partners with local organizations to build sustainable capacity. Handbooks and videos are available.

Examples of programs and policies that have been shown to be effective in addressing specific health factors and focus areas.
Focus areas include health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment. Can also search by Decision Makers, eg government officials, employers, community leaders, educators, etc. Each intervention includes citations of evidence and implementation, as well as impact on health disparities.

The Field Guide to Human-Centered Design includes 57 clear-to-use design methods for new and experienced practitioners, and from-the-field case studies of human-centered design in action. The Field Guide has everything you need to understand the people you're designing for, to have more effective brainstorms, to prototype your ideas, and to ultimately arrive at more creative solutions.

This website will guide you through why and how to use human-centred design as an approach to addressing challenges related to community demand for basic health services such as immunization.

OpenLab is a design and innovation shop dedicated to finding creative solutions that transform the way health care is delivered and experienced.
OpenLab is made up of three distinct but inter-related labs:
COMPLEX CARE LAB – reinventing care for people with chronic disease.
EXPERIENCE LAB – ways to dramatically improve how people experience care.
X-LAB – fresh ideas and perspectives on the future of our health system.

PSI uses a multidisciplinary approach to social and behavior change that draws on the tenets of public health, marketing, behavioral economics, and human centered design. They work in reproductive health, malaria, family planning, HIV, diarrhea, pneumonia and sanitation.

Intersectional design considers overlapping or “intersecting” factors—including gender, ethnicity, age, geographic location, etc.—that interact to shape a person’s or a group’s experience and social opportunities as a starting point for a more inclusive design approach. These cards are designed to help teams explore and develop intersectional design solutions:
- Navigate assumptions and biases;
- Integrate intersectional thinking into your product;
- Course correct;
- Identify new markets and business opportunities;
- Build an equitable, sustainable, and just society.

(National Committee for Quality Assurance)
The Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS) is one of health care’s most widely used performance improvement tools. 191 million people are enrolled in plans that report HEDIS results.

A partnership initiative created to provide performance standards for public health systems and encourage their use. Assessment instruments and various tools to aid in the assessment such as a user guide and fact sheet are available.

The Joint Commission has successfully developed and nationally implemented many standardized core performance measures for hospitals.